Crunchy Goodness

I love granola.

I have a problem.  When I make granola, only about 2/3 of the batch makes it to the container, because I get the munchies!!

This cold and rainy day called for granola.  I always have these two granolas made and ready to be snacked on.

Luv’s Honey Granola

  • 4 cups of rolled oats
  • 1/2 cup sliced almonds
  • 1/2 cup sunflower seeds
  • 1/2 cup pumpkin seeds
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened coconut
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/3 cup of honey

Mix dry ingredients together in a large bowl. 

Mix the vanilla and honey together and pour over oat mixture.  Mix well.

Spread on cookie sheet and bake at the lowest setting for 20 minutes.  Stir, and cook for 20 minutes longer.

You can add raisins and craisins if your heart so desires.  (Try not to eat the whole batch at once!)

Another love affair I have is chocolate.  :)  This may be my favorite granola to eat by the spoon handful.  I found the recipe from Emily at The Daily Garnish, and slightly altered it.  Granola + cocoa = foodgasms!

Cocoa (or Carob) Granola (altered from The Daily Garnish)

  • 2 cups of rolled oats
  • 1/4 cup walnuts
  • 1/4 cup almonds
  • 2 Tbsp cocoa powder (or 1.5 Tbsp carob)
  • 2 Tbsp pumpkin seeds
  • 1 Tbsp cinnamon
  • 1 Tbsp ground flax
  • 1 Tbsp succant
  • 1 Tbsp sorghum
  • 1 Tbsp honey
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1/4 cup applesauce

Mix all dry ingredients (minus succant).

Mix wet ingredients in a separate bowl (plus succant).

Combine and mix well

Bake on 325 for 20 minutes.

(It’s okay to eat the whole pan at once… right???)

My favorite way to eat my granola is on a big bowl of oats!

Last night, I iced my knee, and today it is feeling great.  To test it out, I did an Insanity video, and I never had a pain!!  I’m going to foam roll this week and stretch very good so I can try running again on Friday.  If it hurts again, I may have to suck it up and go to the doctor.  :(  Boo hiss.

I’m off to have a date with some granola and Luvy!

4 thoughts on “Crunchy Goodness

Leave a Reply

