Being Present and Content

Slowly I am learning that life doesn’t have to be so rushed.  I feel like even as a small child I would look forward to when I was older.  I remember saying… “I’m 7 and a HALF”.  I was always ready to be older.  When I was 14, I couldn’t wait to be 16.  When I was 16 I couldn’t wait until I was 18.  Now, I look back and WISH I could be 18 again!!

I wouldn’t change my situation in life for anything, but it amazes me at how I always seemed to be impatient and ready for the next thing in life.  I don’t want to wish my life away.  I want to live for the here and now.  I want to make an impact.

Right now, tension is high in our house.  Luvy is studying hard for his comps, and school started back full force for me. Drop that in with work and daily life, shake it up, and things get a bit hairy.

From Pinterest.

However, I’m trying to not allow myself to get all worked up.  I’m trying to enjoy this time.  I will never be a grad student again, I hope!  Luvy will never do another PhD.  Life will never be like this again!

I’m trying to enjoy this time of our lives.  I’m trying to be present and not always be looking forward to what is next.

I don’t want life to pass me by.  I want to be active, present, and content with where God has me now.  I want to live out God’s purpose in my life.  I can’t do that fully if I am always discontent with my circumstances.  Besides, if I am always looking to the future, I’ll miss the blessings and lessons God has for me TODAY.

From Pinterest.

This is super easy for me to type.  Living it out is a totally different story.  :)  I want to challenge everyone, including myself, to just be present.  I don’t want to look back when I’m old and gray and realize I was never content in life because I was always looking forward to what was next in life instead of living in the moment.

Sorry to get all serious on y’all tonight, but this is what is on my mind.  I have a very exciting new recipe for y’all this week!

Are you always looking forward to what is next, or do you think you do a good job of being content and at peace with your life situations?

21 thoughts on “Being Present and Content

  1. You are right: its so easy to say that you are going to live in the present, but hard to carry out. I struggle with it daily and try not to wish the present away. I keep wishing for a new house, a new city to move to, and sometimes a new job, but I know that God will carry out those plans when its the right time. Jeremiah 29:11 is my favorite verse when it comes to this!

  2. Oh my gosh! I TOTALLY NEEDED THIS! Thank you so much, love!

    I was just complaint to my Mom tonight about my summer course and how I wish I knew what I was going to be doing with my degree!

    I loved this post :) THANK YOU!

  3. That’s funny, because that is something I have been focusing on the last couple weeks! I have a dear friend that keeps reminding me be present, be present, be present! It is much easier said than done. But yes, you will never be in this situation again, and you don’t want to wish your life away. Hang in there! I know you have a lot going on, but at least you aren’t bored :)

  4. I’m terrible about looking ahead, need to get more focused on the moment, although my present moving plans aren’t helping that at all! No excuses though, need to be more present! :)

  5. yes, i couldn’t agree more. and thank you so much for this reminder! i was/am the same exact way… always looking forward to what’s next. i really just need to enjoy NOW and appreciate it. :) love you!

  6. What a lovely, honest, post! Sometimes I feel like I get TOO caught up “in the moment” and stress myself out, without knowing that ‘this too shall pass’ and that there IS a plan…just to let each day come as the plan unfolds. [Does that make sense?] We all need to enjoy the tiny moments of perfection in our lives…

Leave a Reply

