Hallelujah!

I can hear the angels singing… No more political ads!!!  WOO-HOO.

Luvy and I exercised our right to vote today after work.  I hope the rest of you did the same!  

Lets start at the beginning of my day.  Since I found out that I am moderately intolerant to oats and peanut butter, I had to find new breakfast ideas.  After going to Rainbow Blossom, I decided to give Rye Flakes a try.  I tried to cook them as close as I could to my beloved oats..  I made a homemade “granola” with Kamut puffed cereal, almonds, pecans, and maple syrup.

What went into the mix was:

  • rye flakes
  • almond milk
  • maple syrup
  • strawberries
  • “granola”
  • 365 crunchy almond butter

It actually kept me very full!

Lunch was a quickie.  Patients were waiting…  It was salmon on Rye crisps, green beans- NEW FOOD TODAY!!, and leftover roasted beets.  Plus, 1/2 of a granny smith- on the run!

Dinner tonight was fun!  Luvy ate real food with me for the first time in 2 weeks since his tonsillectomy!!  We had Kamut “fried rice”.

I mixed in:  shrooms, string beans, broccoli, yellow squash, garlic, ginger, kamut, and 2 egg whites.  Yes, I ate egg whites. Everyone pass out now!  I’m tellin’ ya… my eating has had to change majorly.

After dinner, we made homemade apple sauce with leftover apples from Huber’s Orchard, and now are relaxing on the couch.

Have any of you ever tried Rye Flakes or Kamut??  Post your recipes!

One thought on “Hallelujah!

  1. Hi Brittany!! Congrats on starting your blog!! 🙂 Thanks so much for your email. I appreciate you saying hello and letting me know I’ve inspired you. That really means a lot. I’m getting ready to head to SanFran this week for the Foodbuzz festival. Once I’m back I’ll try to send you some feedback but so far it’s looking good! Take care!

Leave a Reply

