Monday Blues

I have never been a big fan of Monday’s.  I don’t know why.  I only work 4 days a week, and everyday at work is like the next.  I’m a dental hygienist, so it’s not like I have a weekends worth of stuff piled up on my desk.

The morning started off with a DELICIOUS and filling breakfast.  I had amaranth with almond milk, applesauce, cinnamon, and my new food of the day- Carob!  Carob is kind of like chocolate except it has no caffeine, chocolate, or cocoa in it.  It can be used in baked goods or hot chocolate just like cocoa can be.  I love the flavor!

I topped the amaranth with roasted pecans, almonds, and hazelnuts.  I also had a side of strawberries.

Obviously, I was too sleepy to take pictures of my breakfast this morning!

Lunch was equally delicious!!  I had leftovers from last night- salmon with lemon, kamut, roasted beets with corn, and roasted broccoli. 

Luvy called before lunch to let me know that he had a city council meeting to go to tonight for our town at 6:30, so we were going to need to eat early.

No biggie.. I was excited to make dinner tonight anyway.  I was going to make one of Mama Pea’s recipes!

My version of Mama Pea’s Corn and Millet Pudding:

Luv’s Corn Pudding

  • 3 cups fresh or frozen corn
  • 1/3 cup grits
  • 3/4 cup almond milk
  • 3 Tbsp corn starch
  • 1/2 Tbsp maple syrup
  • 3/4 tsp salt

In an oiled skillet, cook your corn until it starts to brown.  Meanwhile, add all other ingredients into your food processor or blender.  Blend until well combined.

When corn is finished, add corn and slightly blend- you want it to be chunky. I blended mine a little too much.

Place in 8 X 8 oiled dish and cook for 40 minutes on 350.

This was Luvy approved!

We also had lentils and sautéed yellow squash, zucchini, and mushrooms.

Sautéed Squash, Zucchini, and Mushrooms

  • 2 cups yellow squash chopped
  • 2 cups zucchini chopped
  • 5-6 large mushrooms chopped
  • 2 garlic cloves diced
  • basil
  • salt

Add the first 4 ingredients into a skillet with a couple of tablespoons of water.  Add your salt and basil to taste.  When it starts to cook, add about 1/2 tsp of almond oil to keep it from sticking.  Let it simmer on medium until tender and juices are cooked down.

Today was a day of great eats!

After dinner Luvy went to the city council meeting.  He said it was like being in a Gilmore Girls episode complete with our very own Taylor!!!   

Source

Next meeting, I’m so there.  I’ll make the popcorn… Anyone want to be my Rory??

Do any of you have the Monday Blues??  How do you beat them?

5 thoughts on “Monday Blues

  1. All my life I have never been to one of our town meetings. Sounds like I might have to go now!

    The only thing that gets me through Monday’s is knowing that I like Tuesday’s!

  2. Pingback: 2 more bite the dust « Delights and Delectables

  3. Pingback: Merry Christmas! « Delights and Delectables

  4. Pingback: Cookin’ and Bakin’ « Delights and Delectables

Leave a Reply

