Taking the LEAP and Coconut crazy

I have been asked several times why LEAP?  To go back to the beginning, I started getting really sick around Thanksgiving last year.  Every time I ate, my stomach hurt extremely bad, and I was constantly nauseated.  Sometimes I couldn’t even eat toast without getting sick.

After several doctor visits and months later, I found out that my gallbladder was only functioning at 14%.  Yikes!  They said it needed to come out.  So, May 10th I had my surgery.  Shortly after my surgery, we could tell that things were not the way they should be.  I would eat 1/2 of an apple and be stuffed.  My stomach would feel like it was on fire sometimes, and I never had an appetite.  Come to find out, without a gallbladder acid just dumps into your stomach.

My surgeon put me on medicine and suggested I meet with a wonderful dietician to help come up with an eating plan so that I get all the nutrients I needed while my stomach heals.

Meeting with Sandra was the best thing I have ever done.  She recommended the LEAP test that tests for food intolerances.  More information on that can be found here.

After getting my results back, I was really freaked out!  Most of my favorite foods were on my do not eat list!!!

For my extremely reactive(red) list, barley, codfish, GRAPE, QUINOA, shrimp, and SOYBEAN.  I love me some soy ice cream and I LOVE LOVE LOVE tofu.  😦

For my yellow or moderately reactive foods, american cheese, beef, cabbage, CARROT, CELERY, cherry, COCOA, COCONUT, COFFEE, cottage cheese, cucumber, green #3, GREEN PEA, lima bean, MILLET, OAT, ONION, orange, oregano, papaya, parsley, PEACH, PEANUT, PINEAPPLE, sulfites, solanine, tilapia, tyramine, and VANILLA.

For those of you who know me well, I have had a love affair with oats and peanut butter.  My stomach hurt so bad, and I was so unable to eat that I was willing to give up ANYTHING.

I also had a love affair with coconut.  I love coconut in my oats, granola, coconut water, coconut milk, coconut ice cream, and my favorite… in indian food.

After taking the LEAP test and finding out that I’m intolerant to coconut, I agreed to give it up.  If it will make me feel better and be able to eat without getting sick all the time- I can give up anything.

What I didn’t know was that there is coconut in EVERYTHING… literally.

It is in my shampoo, conditioner, soap, face stuff, lotion, and toothpaste!!  I’m a dental hygienist– my toothpaste and mouthwash are vital in my life.

Here is a list (probably not conclusive!) of all the names that coconut goes by:

  • 1,2 Octanediol
  • 2 Phenoxyethanol
  • Ammonium Lauryl Sulphate
  • Capryl Glycol
  • Caprylic Acid
  • Caprylic Glycol
  • Caprylic/Capric
  • Caprylyl Glycol
  • Ceteareth-20
  • Cetearyl Alcohol
  • Cetearyl Glucoside
  • Ceteth-20 Phosphate
  • Cetyl Alcohol
  • Cetyl Esters
  • Cocamide MEA
  • Cocamidopropyl Betaine
  • Cocoamphodiacetate
  • Cococaprylate/Caprate
  • Cocomide DEA
  • Coconut Oil
  • Disodium Cocamphodiprop
  • Emusifying Wax
  • Glyceryl Caprylate
  • Hexyl Laurate
  • Isopropyl Myristate
  • Laureth-3
  • Olefin Sulfonate
  • Organic Sodium Cocoate
  • PEG- 4 Cocoate
  • PEG – 7 Glyceryl Cocoate
  • PEG -100
  • PEG- 6, 8, 12, 40, 150
  • Phenoxyethanol
  • Polyethylene glycol
  • Polysorbate 20
  • Sodium Cocoate
  • Sodium Cocoyl Isethionate
  • Sucrose Stearate
  • Sodium lauramino-propionate
  • Sodium Laureth Sulfate
  • Sodium Lauroyl Sarcosinat
  • Sodium Lauryl Sulfate
  • Sodium myreth sulfate
  • Sodium 0-phenyl phenate
  • Sodium Stearate
  • Sorbitan Stearate
  • Stearyl Alcohol
  • Vegetable Cetearyl Glucos
  • Vegetable Glycerine

Sources from Kiss My Face and Allergic to Coconut?

So far, I bought the Kiss My Face olive oil bar, ShiKai hand and body lotion, and Alaffia handcrafted shea butter for my face.

Do any of you know of any other good products or home remedies that are coconut free??

Is there a food that you would never be able to give up?? I won’t lie… there are days that I just want a big bowl of pumpkin oatmeal with granola and peanut butter….

2 thoughts on “Taking the LEAP and Coconut crazy

  1. I remember you being a picky (healthy) eater for a long time. I had my gall bladder out on May 10, 2004. Mine was working at round the same percent. I have reallly bad acid reflux now but was on 80 mg of Nexium for 2 yrs before finally saying somethings gotta gove. I hate medicine. My doctor never mentioned a dietician. I just heard no greasy food, eat crackers, etc. I love eating! I couldn’t go without pasta…I admire your ability to maintain that diet…I don’t think Id have the will power. One more question, so just because you can’t eat coconut you need to stay away from the product completely? Thanks for the post!

    • I do have to stay away from it completely for now… Eventually- like 6 months or more I may be able to try it again, but for now I have to avoid all coconut. 😦 It seems to be worth it! AND I can’t take Nexium or anything like that because they are all made with milk. I have a really bad milk allergy so a dietician was my only option. I highly recommend talking to one. You wouldn’t need to do the LEAP program, but I know many people who have benefited that have acid reflux!

Leave a Reply

