The mental part of exercise and “granola” recipe!

Most people exercise to achieve a weight goal, or because they have a gym membership. I do neither. I exercise to deal with stress. Mentally, I need to exercise.  I feel like I have just left a therapy sessions when I get back from a good run.  I also exercise because it makes me feel good.

I am now 4 weeks since my last run (3 miles) and 7 weeks since my last good run. I am going crazy. With my knee injury, I can’t run. I have been doing some Insanity, but there is nothing that makes my body feel as good as running does. So, I am debating joining a gym for the spin classes. What do you all think??

I am going tomorrow to tour a gym, and they are giving me a 2 day pass to try it out. I like spin, and even though it isn’t running it is good cardio! I will update you tomorrow on how it goes.

On another note, since I can’t have oats or coconut, I had to get creative on making a “granola” to top my rye flakes. 🙂

Enter: Kamut puffs granola

  • 3 cups Kamut
  • 1/4 cup almonds
  • 1/4 cup pecans
  • 1 Tbsp maple syrup
  • optional:  carob and/or cinnamon

Preheat your oven to 350.

Mix all ingredients in a medium- large bowl.  You may want to break almonds and pecans into smaller pieces.  

Spread out on baking sheet.

Cook for 7-8 minutes.  Check and stir.  Cook for additional 3 minutes if necessary.  This burns very easily and quickly so keep your eyes peeled!

Try not to eat the whole batch at one sitting!  🙂  This may or may not been the case at my house… it is very good on top of apple sauce… that’s all I’ll say.

What do you all think about cross training?  What should I be looking for in a gym?

Leave a Reply

