1 failure and 2 successes= 1 great day

As you all know, it has been killing me not to run.  So, today Luvy took me out to try to run.  My running shoes had been very lonely for a long time, and today was a beautiful day to run!

We didn’t run far from home in case that my knee started to hurt.  About 1.28 miles into the run, my knee started to really hurt. Luvy was VERY supportive.  What would I do without him???  He told me not to push it- I would only do more damage.  I am one that will run through the pain.  We walked for about 3 minutes, and my knee started to feel normal again.  I tried running on it and made it about a 10th of a mile.  Big mistake.  My knee was now throbbing.  BIG FAIL.

We ended up coming back home covering less than 2 miles.  😦  More rest and foam rolling it is.

Even though my run was a complete failure, I had great success in the kitchen today!  I mastered grits, and I made homemade amaranth tortillas.

For breakfast, I have felt very limited until here recently.  Since I have been able to add in corn, I can now have grits.  I have always thought of grits as gross.  It always looked like gooey mush.  Being so limited, I decided to give them a try.  I hit the jackpot this morning.

Luv’s Good morning Grits:

  • 1/4 cup grits
  • 1 cup water
  • almond milk
  • 1/2 apple
  • cinnamon
  • honey
  • roasted pecans and almonds

Bring your water to a boil.  Reduce heat and slowly stir in grits.  Cover and let simmer for 15-20 minutes.  Stir in milk of choice (I used about 1/4 cup of almond milk) and add cinnamon (maybe 1/2 tsp?).  I never measure!

While your grits are cooking, cut up your apple in small pieces.  Add a little bit of cinnamon and cook in microwave for 45 sec-1 min or until cooked through.

Pour grits into bowl.  Top with apple and nuts.  Drizzle with honey (1-2 tsp).  My honey is strong!

ENJOY.

Amaranth is an ancient grain that I had never had before LEAP.  I was kind of intimidated to try them because amaranth is a dense flour, and I had never made tortillas before.  They turned out great!

Amaranth tortillas- recipe adapted from Bob’s Red Mill

  • 1 and 1/4 cups amaranth flour
  • 1/3 to 1/2 cup water
  • dash of salt

Combine flour, salt, and water.  Dough should be easy to shape, but not wet.  Break off into 6-7 golf ball sized balls.  

Roll them out onto a floured surface until about 1/8 inch thick and 5-6 inches in diameter.  

Put them into a hot skillet with NO OIL.

Let them cook for about 2 minutes on each side.  I had my skillet set on about 3.

They will start to get slightly brown and look dry.

Keep in the refrigerator for up to 2 weeks or freeze.  They rewarm well in the oven.  Place oven on 200 F and heat for about 2 minutes.

Make these ASAP!

Today is a very special day.  One of my very best friends has a birthday today!!!!

Even though I am hours away, I am celebrating with you, Jen.  I love you, and you are a HUGE blessing in my life.  You have been since we were 5, and for that I am eternally grateful.

3 thoughts on “1 failure and 2 successes= 1 great day

  1. Pingback: Human Interaction « Delights and Delectables

Leave a Reply

