Paper Schmaper

Today, I did not leave my house.  I have been sitting at my kitchen table in a very ergonomically uncomfortable position working on my paper for school.  Boo.  This is what keeps my chiropractor in business!  😉

I was hoping to get half of it written today…. key word..hoping!  It didn’t happen.  However, I did get a very good jump-start.  I have a feeling I will be able to get the biggest chunk done tomorrow.  Then, it will have to wait until next week, because our SPECIAL GUEST is coming!!!

In honor of our guest, I will be doing no school work.  Period.  I know this will put me WAY behind, but sometimes it is worth it.

Today, I made a red lentil and sweet potato soup.  This was a feat since I can not have any type of broth.  It ended badly.  Very badly.  I won’t be sharing my recipe with you all, because I don’t want any of you to have to be tortured the way we were tonight.

Actually, it wasn’t THAT bad.  I’m being dramatic.  I just got a little too ginger happy.

Tonight I will share my pizza and pesto recipes with you!

Polenta Pizza

Polenta crust:

  • 1 cup cornmeal
  • 4 cups water
  • salt
  • (pepper for you lucky ones that can have it!)

Bring your water to a boil.  Decrease the heat and slowly whisk in the cornmeal.  Stir constantly and make sure to get out all the lumps!  Once it has turned into a thick oatmeal like consistency, pour into a greased 13 X 9 pan.  Put in refrigerator for about an hour to let set. (This is a great time to make your pesto!)

Preheat oven to 450.  Bake polenta for 25 minutes.

In the meantime prepare your veggies.

I used:

  • mushrooms
  • leeks
  • roasted beets
  • corn
  • yellow squash
  • garlic

Put pesto on top of cooked polenta, and then scatter veggies over top.  If you can have dairy or soy cheese, put on top of veggies.  I am missing my vegan cheese!!!  😦

Bake for 10-15 minutes or until polenta starts to brown and veggies are done.

Top with parmesan cheese or my fav nutritional yeast!  (Can’t have that yet though…)

This pizza was very very good.  It would also be great with Tofurky Italian Sausages…too bad they are made with soy.  😦

Be creative with your toppings.  I just topped mine with the veggies that I am allowed to have right now.

Now for the Pesto..

Broccoli Pesto

  • 1 12 ounce bag of broccoli crowns steamed or one head of broccoli steamed
  • 2 cups fresh basil
  • 2 Tbsp raw almond butter
  • 1/4- 1/3 cup almond oil
  • salt to taste
  • 1-2 garlic cloves

First, steam your broccoli.  

Add broccoli, basil, garlic, salt, and almond butter to food processor.

Feel free to use 1/4 cup of pine nuts instead of raw almond butter.  I, of course, am using the foods I am allowed for LEAP.

Slowly add in oil to desired consistency.  You can use olive oil for this instead of almond oil.

I only used 1/4 cup, because my stomach can’t handle too much oil.  My pesto was a little more chunky than normal pesto.  If oil doesn’t bother you, I would use the 1/3 cup.

Adjust salt to taste.

Enjoy!!

I’m off to the couch with Luvy for a well deserved break!

What fun things do you all have going on this coming weekend??

4 thoughts on “Paper Schmaper

  1. Brittany,
    Thanks for sharing this recipie! I am going to try it tonight! It is family pizza night and I didn’t know what to make because I am doing boot camp and following a very healthy diet. I am in need of a little variety that will not cause me to “cheat”:) I am finding that my healthy eating is becoming a way of life and leaving me feeling a lot better these days!! Maybe sometime soon we can get together and chat:)
    Camaron

    • Hey Camaron!

      Thanks for reading! I would love to get together here soon and chat. I’m sure we could share lots of good tips and ideas!

      You may want to add some chicken or something more to this on the side. John David and I ate about 3/4 of this ourselves… we have big appetites. 🙂

  2. Pingback: How to Healthify Pizza « Delights and Delectables

Leave a Reply

