The Perfect Pancakes for a Perfect Weekend

Hey guys!  Sorry I went MIA on you all this weekend.  Daddy was here.

And I had lots of this going on.

I hated having to work on my paper that is due in just a few short days while he was here.  It was either that or work on it during Thanksgiving.

I’m becoming a Thanksgiving Grinch this year.  I DO NOT feel like traveling to Tennessee this year.  I have so much on my plate that I feel like I will be a crab the whole time.  I love love love my family, but I’m super stressed.

Anywho, back to my perfect weekend.  Even though I had to work on school stuff, daddy was here- and that made for the perfect weekend.

We got our new washer, daddy fixed our sink, and we had the best missions Sunday ever!

Saturday was spent doing stuff around the house and running errands.  The best part was the food!

Luv’s Perfect Pancakes

  • 3/4 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 cup unbleached white flour (I used spelt flour for both the WW and white)
  • 1TBSP brown sugar (I used honey)
  • 1 TBSP applesauce
  • 2 tsp baking powder (I used 1/4 tsp of baking soda b/c I can’t have baking powder)
  • pinch of salt
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract (I omitted due to LEAP)
  • opt- cinnamon
  • 1.25- 1.5 cups water

Combine flour, baking powder, salt, and cinnamon in a large mixing bowl.  

Add in liquid ingredients and stir to combine.  Mixture may be a little lumpy.  Do not overmix- this leads to rubbery and tough pancakes!

Ladle about 1/4 cup of batter onto a skillet or electric skillet heated to 375.

Adding in blueberries or other fruit would be great in this recipe!  The spelt was delicious.  There were no survivors.

We also cooked salmon for daddy for lunch.  Luvy is getting good at this grilling business!

Sunday, we had our yearly missions Sunday.  The whole church was together for one service (we normally have 3 services!).  It was great!  I love when the whole church family is together.  Luvy spoke about our missions partnerships here locally, in Chicago, Lima, Peru, and in London.  He is such a good public speaker!

After church, we went over for the missions banquet.  Of course, I took my lunch in my lunchbox!  🙂

The best part about the banquet is spending the time with people we love!

They did an auction and I got this piece for $15!  The best part about that is that ALL the money goes to missions.

All the staff gets auctioned off too.  Luvy auctioned himself off for 5 private piano or guitar lessons.  He went for $160!  🙂

I think he is worth more than that though…. 😉

Thanks Daddy for coming up and staying with us!  You made it a great weekend, even though both of us are under a lot of stress.

Daddy always seems to make things better.  🙂

Do any of you ever feel like a Grinch around the holidays?  Who or what seems to de-stress you?

4 thoughts on “The Perfect Pancakes for a Perfect Weekend

  1. Pingback: Things I’m Thankful For « Delights and Delectables

  2. Pingback: Crazy Weekend « Delights and Delectables

  3. Pingback: A Heart Because I Love YOU « Delights and Delectables

Leave a Reply

