Roller coaster

Of emotions.

Today was a bad day.  Period.

We woke up to an e-mail from Luvy’s daddy that his uncle Frank, who has been in the hospital for several days, had a stroke last night.  He was in ICU, and we didn’t have a lot of information.  We proceeded to go about our morning.

After making breakfast and only having 10 minutes to scarf it down before I had to leave for work, I somehow managed to knock my bowl off the counter breaking the bowl and my favorite spoon.  My breakfast was all over the kitchen.  😦

Luvy sweetly drove me to work so I could eat breakfast on the way to work- and I was late.

About this time, Luvy let me know that Uncle Frank had bleeding in the brain and it was very serious.  They didn’t know if he was going to make it.

Around 10:30 Luvy sent me a message to call asap.  Uncle Frank was brain dead.  He, Uncle Frank, had said before that he didn’t want to be put on a ventilator, so Luvy’s daddy had to make the hard decision to let his only sibling go.

Over the past few months, we have had a lot of death around us.  We have experienced it in our own family and in our friends families.  It is beginning to become overwhelming.  However, it reminds me of God’s love for us.

Uncle Frank also had congestive heart failure, and he was constantly saying that the only reason he was alive was because of God’s grace.  Today, I was reminded of this.  We are only here and able to take our next breath because of God’s grace and amazing love for us.  Nothing happens to us that God is not right there with us.  He cares about what we care about and mourns when we mourn.

My favorite Bible verses are Psalm 73:23-26.

23 Nevertheless, I am continually with you;
you hold my right hand.
24 You guide me with your counsel,
and afterward you will receive me to glory.
25 Whom have I in heaven but you?
And there is nothing on earth that I desire besides you.
26 My flesh and my heart may fail,
but God is the strength of my heart and my portion forever.

God was Uncle Frank’s strength and portion.  I hope that today we can all say that God is our desire and strength.  We never know when our time on earth is up.

We got to talk to him on Friday while he was at the hospital.  The last thing I said to him before we hung up was that we loved him and we couldn’t wait to see him again.  I am thankful that I got to tell him that we loved him.  Now, it may be a little longer until we see each other again, Lord willing, but the comfort in all of this is that I know we will see each other again.

When we do, there will be no more sickness, crying, or pain.  Praise the Lord!

Some food for thought for the night…

Romans 8:38 For I am sure that neither death nor life, nor angels nor rulers, nor things present nor things to come, nor powers, 39 nor height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God in Christ Jesus our Lord.

We love you Uncle Frank.

Have you told the people you love that you love them recently? I highly recommend it- you never know when the last time you talk to them will be.

Leave a Reply

