Promoted

Today, we buried Luvy’s Uncle Frank.

It seems so surreal.  Everything happened so quickly.  We found out he had leukemia on Friday, a stroke Sunday night, and then gone on Monday.  I don’t feel like it has sunk in yet.

Yesterday when we drove up to my in-laws house, Uncle Frank’s car was in the driveway.  He loved that car!  It almost made me sick to my stomach to see it.

Luvy performed the ceremony last night and the graveside this morning.  I know it was hard on him, but he did so well.  I know Uncle Frank would have wanted no one else to perform the ceremony.  Something that Luvy said during the ceremony stuck with me.  He was talking about how the last time he talked to Uncle Frank he prayed with him.  Little did he know that it was the last time he would talk to him before Uncle Frank’s promotion to glory.

How fitting..  death is not the end.  It IS a promotion.  It is okay to be sad because you will miss that person, but we are NOT without hope.  Uncle Frank is now in heaven, and that IS  promotion.

The song that was sung at the funeral was so fitting.  It is I Will Rise by Chris Tomlin.  Here is the first part of the song to give you an idea of how perfect it was.

I Will Rise

There’s a peace I’ve come to know
Though my heart and flesh may fail
There’s an anchor for my soul
I can say “It is well”

Jesus has overcome
And the grave is overwhelmed
The victory is won
He is risen from the dead

Chorus:
And I will rise when He calls my name
No more sorrow, no more pain
I will rise on eagles’ wings
Before my God fall on my knees
And rise
I will rise

Uncle Frank has risen.  Praise be to God!

Although the funeral was certainly not easy, this little one brightened everyone’s day.

I was so happy to finally meet sweet Laura.  I am one proud aunt!

It was so cold outside last night, so Jennifer had her all bundled.  I wonder if they make these in my size?!?!

Right now, Nathan, Paula, Elizabeth, Daniel, and Molly should be home!!  Molly is now an official US citizen.

Our family has a lot to praise the Lord for!  It is a sad time because of Uncle Frank, but we rejoice that he has been promoted to the glorious unknown!  We also rejoice that God has blessed us with Laura and Molly.

I’m thankful to be back home.  It has been a crazy past two days!  Thanks again for all of your love and support you have shown Luvy and I during the past few days!

 

 

 

One thought on “Promoted

  1. Pingback: We’ve come a long way! « Delights and Delectables

Leave a Reply

