For the love of bread

This morning before church I broke out my mamaw’s bread machine.

I used MamaPea’s recipe for whole wheat bread, for the most part.  I wasn’t certain how my bread machine would work considering it hadn’t been used for 15 years.

I made just a couple of substitutions to MamaPea’s recipe.

Whole Wheat Bread- inspired by the Pea’s

  • 2/3 cup water
  • 1/2 cup almond milk
  • 1 1/2 Tbsp honey
  • 3/4 tsp salt
  • 1 1/4 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 1/2 tsp vital wheat gluten
  • 1 1/2 tsp yeast.

Place ingredients in the order your bread machine calls for.  Turn on and let it do it’s thing!

We came back from church to this:

It was DELICIOUS!

I am going to have to make another loaf ASAP because we have already eaten over half of the loaf.  Ooopsy.

I haven’t had a slice of bread since before the LEAP program… it was amazing.  🙂

It is snowing and cold outside.  Time for hot carob!!

Have any of you ever made bread in a bread machine?  Share your recipes!! I am wanting to make spelt bread next!

    2 thoughts on “For the love of bread

    1. Oh Brit that looks so yummy. I think if I had been there the loaf would have been gone. Boy extra trips to the Y for me then!
      Love ya
      Mom

    Leave a Reply

    