You win some.. and you lose some.

Yesterday we were off for a SNOW DAY!

Believe it or not, I slept in until 8:30!!  That is so unlike me.  I have trouble sleeping in until 8 usually.  With all the craziness going on around here, my body needed the sleep.

Since I had the day off, I decided to make something special for Luvy for dinner.  PIZZA!!  We both love love love pizza, but the crust takes some time to rise and such.  It is not a usual workday meal.

To really make it special, I decided to make seitan from the wheat gluten I picked up from Whole Foods.  I had found this recipe from never(home) maker.  I love this site!!  I love all of Ashley and Stephen’s recipes.

I followed it fairly close however I left out the nutritional yeast, and subbed the tomato paste for apple sauce.

This is what I got in return:

What in the world happened?!?!?!  It was like seitan bread.  It was awful!  I couldn’t help but laugh.

I lost the seitan battle.  Anyone have any suggestions???  I need a soy and tomato free recipe so that it is LEAP friendly.

Tonight, I needed a yummy quick meal since we were back to work.  I have been craving sweet potatoes, and I remembered seeing a great recipe for sweet potato and lentils over at KathEats.

My take on Kath’s Sweet Potato Lentil’s

  • 3 cups frozen green beans (I didn’t have fresh and I wasn’t braving Kroger since they are calling for snow again tomorrow!)
  • 2 medium sweet potatoes diced
  • 1 cup of lentils
  • 1 cup cooked kamut
  • 2 apples (I used Braeburn)
  • 1/4 cup walnuts
  • 1 TBSP olive oil
  • 1 TBSP maple syrup
  • 1 tsp mustard powder
  • 2 tsp cinnamon

Preheat oven to 400°.  Chop sweet potato, drizzle an little bit of olive oil, salt and pepper.  Roast for 35 minutes.

In the meantime, cook lentils in 2 cups of water or broth 15-20 minutes or until tender.

Toast walnuts in large skillet.  Remove if you are using frozen green beans.  Add in green beans with a drizzle of olive oil until starting to get tender.  Add in apples and walnuts.  Cook until apples are tender.

Add in sweet potato, lentils, and kamut.

Stir together olive oil, maple syrup, mustard powder, and cinnamon.  Drizzle over salad.

Serves 4.

It looks like I was eating my dinner on my placemat.  Lol.  We have clear bowls!

This was delicious!!  I don’t know what I would do without my favorite food bloggers.  Luvy might starve.  😉

Seriously, I love getting new and fresh ideas from these bloggers!  They have made our meals so much more interesting and diverse!  You will be seeing lots of other bloggers recipes on here.  You should check out their sites and their recipes.  I highly recommend it!

Oh, I lost something today…

That was just for you Jennifer!  😉

Where do you find your favorite recipes?  Other bloggers?  Favorite cookbook? Family/ friends? I am wanting some good cookbooks.  On the top of my list is The Happy Herbivore,  Peas and Thank You, Clean Food, and Vegonomicon.

4 thoughts on “You win some.. and you lose some.

  1. Pingback: Sweet Goodness | Delights and Delectables

  2. Pingback: Warm Sweet Potato and Chickpea Salad

  3. Pingback: Broccoli and Potato Soup

  4. Pingback: Warm Sweet Potato and Chickpea Salad - Delights and Delectables

Leave a Reply

