Life in a Cage

I never stepped foot out of my house today.  How pitiful am I??

I have every intention of going Christmas shopping today, but it never happened.  By the time I cleaned some, hung out with Shaun T for some Insanity, ate lunch, and showered I found myself hard at work over my LEAP diet stuff.

Not only did I never leave my house, but I am now in the last phase of the diet where you are put on a “rotation diet”.  Pretty much what that means is that you have certain foods you can eat on days 1, 2, and 3.  So, if lentils are on day 1 you can’t have them again until day 4.  It stinks.  I feel like I’m in a cage.  It really limits what I can make and how creative I can be in the kitchen.  Since I didn’t start my rotation diet until dinner, I made a really good lunch for Luvy and I.

Broccoli and Potato Soup

  • 2-3 cups broccoli
  • 7 red potatoes diced
  • 1 leek
  • 1-2 tsp garlic
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 2 Tbsp flour
  • 1/4 cup of almond milk
  • 2 Tbsp nutritional yeast

Dice potatoes and chop leek.  Put potatoes, leek, and broccoli in a large pot.  Cover with water and bring to a boil.  Add in garlic, salt and pepper.  Boil for about 20 minutes. Pour off water until the water is even with the top of the potatoes and broccoli.

Mix flour and almond milk until smooth.  Add into soup with 2 Tbsp of nutritional yeast and stir well.  Add more milk if necessary to thin out.

We topped it with seitan and more nutritional yeast.  And yes, I FINALLY got the seitan to work!!  It was not seitan bread this time!

I followed this recipe from (never home) maker except I used applesauce instead of tomato paste.

It was delish!

I am really stressing over this rotation diet.  I honestly don’t know if I am going to be able to keep it up.  Like for example, you can only have cinnamon once every 3 days!  I eat cinnamon every morning in my breakfast.  It is going to be a challenge to get through this.  I love food and being creative in the kitchen.

It is going to make our travelling especially tough.  We will be traveling to see our families for Christmas, and we also have our annual winter retreat for our college students.  Looks like I’ll be spending lots of time in the kitchen.  😦

I feel like a bird that just had my wings clipped.

4 thoughts on “Life in a Cage

  1. My family started the GFCF diet for a few months and then started a rotation diet to prevent food allergies intolerances and to identify foods that were a problem for our son. Rotation diets can serve and address both of these potential problems. IMPORTANT NOTE I did not start a rotation diet until I had figured out my son Jeff s GFCF and allergy issues down to a science.

  2. Pingback: Rajun’ Cajun « Delights and Delectables

  3. Pingback: Normal « Delights and Delectables

  4. Pingback: Chasing the Wind « Delights and Delectables

Leave a Reply

