Squashed

I keep saying that I’m going to make more difficult meals this week since I’m off.  I’m not doing so well on this!

Nonetheless, dinner was wonderful!  Adzuki beans with salt and cumin, sautéed green beans with mushrooms and raw almond butter, and yummy butternut squash salad.

Have any of you had Adzuki beans??  I couldn’t wait to add them back into my diet.  They may be my favorite bean.  They are supposed to be one of the easiest beans to digest, and it has the lowest fat content.  They do not have to be soaked prior to cooking, and it says they only take 30 min to simmer.  I had to simmer mine for an hour before they were ready.  This threw a curveball in my dinner.  We had to reheat everything!

The butternut squash salad stole the show.

Butternut Squash Salad- I didn’t measure anything… I just eyeballed amounts.

  • 1  cubed butternut squash roasted with olive oil and cinnamon- 425° for 35 minutes
  • Cooked bulgar wheat or millet
  • Craisins
  • Cinnamon
  • Toasted Walnuts or Pecans
  • Maple Syrup

Roast your butternut squash and cook your grain of choice.  Toast walnuts or pecan in a dry skillet or microwave for 30 sec on high.  Mix squash, grain, craisins, and nuts.  Sprinkle with cinnamon and toss.  Add maple syrup to taste.  Balsamic vinegar would also be wonderful in this!

One more day for 2010!!

Stay tuned tomorrow for my 2011 goals!

What would you all like to see or hear more about on Delights and Delectables in 2011?

Leave a Reply

