I am…

Who am I?

I am the daughter of a King.

I am a wife to the best husband in the world.

I am a daughter of two great parents.

I am a sister to 4 brothers and 4 sisters.  

I am a granddaughter, niece, cousin, and aunt.

I am a friend.

I am a dental hygienist by day.

And I am a minister’s wife. (now is when I get looked at like a have 3 heads)

It is amazing to me sometimes how people react when you tell them your husband is a minister.  Either they completely change how they are acting to be more “holy”, or they look at you like you are nuts.  For the record… ministers and their wives are NORMAL people folks.

If you had told me when I was a freshman in college that I would marry a minister, I would have laughed.  I never thought that God had a plan for me that involved ministry.  However, I wouldn’t change it.

God opened the door for us to serve here in Kentucky close to where Luvy goes to school.  At first, I was extremely homesick, and to be honest it is still hard living away from family and friends.  Even though things were tough at first, I fell in love with my college girls.  These girls (and LUVY) are the reason that Kentucky feels like home.  As we did “book clubs” in the summer, I got to know them all in a much deeper way.. and they got to know me.  In some ways they got to know me a little too well… (some of you know what I mean).

I am not perfect, nor do I claim to be.  BUT I love ministering to these girls.  I love how honest and open they are with me, and how I can share my life lessons with them.  Being a minster’s wife has allowed me to get involved in these girls’ lives in a way that wouldn’t be possible otherwise.

Tennessee will always hold a special place in my heart.  I will never be a UK or UofL “fan”.  I might cheer for them as long as they are not playing Tennessee.  Kentucky is my home now, because this is where God has led us to minister.  I love our college group, and I am thankful that He is allowing Luvy and I to touch lives here.

To my girls:  I am and always will be eternally grateful for how you have touched my life.  Thank you for allowing me to be open with you and looking past my imperfections.  Thank you for allowing me into your lives and sharing yourselves with me.  I love you all.

One thought on “I am…

Leave a Reply

