My Spaghetti Got Squashed!

It was hard going to work today!  After being off for almost a week and a half, I didn’t want to drag myself to work.  Of course, I forgot my lab coat…  I always feel so grungy without it.  I know that I get spit on me at work.  Gross, I know.  BUT I feel so much better with my lab coat on.  It makes me feel like less of the spit is actually getting on me.

I have my lab coat hanging on the door for tomorrow… however, I wouldn’t put it past me to forget it again!  🙂

I am kind of cheating tonight on my post.  This was last nights dinner- not that tonight’s wasn’t as equally good.  To be honest, I am posting this recipe for my mom.  🙂  (love you momma!)

Spaghetti Squash

Start by cutting your squash in 1/2 length wise and scrape out seeds.  Be careful- these are tough guys.  Place face down in a deep baking dish and add about 2 inches of water.  

Bake on 375° for 40-45 minutes.

Drain water off and flip over squash.  Allow them to sit 10 or so minutes until they are cool enough to handle.

Use a fork to scrape out squash.  Looks like spaghetti!  🙂

I served mine with spelt pasta, sautéed vegetables, and homemade pasta sauce.

Homemade Pasta Sauce

  • 1/2 can of fire roasted tomatoes
  • 2 cans of diced tomatoes (preferably no salt added)
  • 4 Tbsp of tomato paste
  • 1/4- 1/2 cup water (add to your liking)
  • 1/2 tsp garlic
  • 1/2 tsp turmeric
  • fresh basil
  • dash of cinnamon (or 1/2 tsp garam masala!)
  • 1/2 tsp cumin
  • salt and pepper
  • red pepper flakes
  • seitan (or beans, tempeh, boca meatless crumbles, organic ground beef/turkey, etc.)

Add all ingredients to a large saucepan.  Heat on medium low.  Adjust seasonings to taste- I didn’t measure much on the seasonings… I just added until I was satisfied!  

It was so good that I had it for lunch again today… and I might have it for a midnight snack!  🙂

This starts Luvy’s 2 weeks of going to an actual class for his PhD.  He has to be on campus for 4 weeks out of the year, and the rest of the time he gets to work from home.

These two weeks are very demanding and rough on him, so keep him in your thoughts and prayers!!

You can do it Luvy!!

School starts back for me in 1 week!  More on that later…

 

Leave a Reply

