Going Back To School

The sweet potato balls I made for Luvy’s class were a hit today I’m told!

The recipe I “used” didn’t really work out ,because I don’t have a food scale.  So, I just cooked about 4 small sweet potatoes and added in tapioca flour and powdered sugar until I was content.  : )

Then, I fried them up!  This was the first time anything has ever been fried in my kitchen, and I hope it is the last!!  It smelled up the house.  I hate the smell of grease!

Anywho, I was very glad to do this for them!  They turned out pretty.  They were garnished with cinnamon and powdered sugar.

I thought I was at Dollywood- they smelled like funnel cake!!

Today was my first day back to school.  I never like the first day, because it is always awkward.  Tonight was especially awkward, because I found out that my master’s level class was combined with the undergrad class!  So, me and one other lady were put in a classroom full of 19 and 20 year olds.  Not that I mind 19 and 20 year olds, but we are just in a different time and place in life. Honestly, it made me feel old!  It should make for an interesting semester….

I have been asked why I decided to go back to school, and where I am going.  For those who don’t already know, I am a dental hygienist, and I love my job.  However, it is VERY taxing on my body– especially my back.  I knew pretty soon upon graduating that I wanted to get my master’s to open more doors for me professionally in case my back ever started to bother me.  In 30 years, I probably won’t want to still be bending over people to clean their teeth, but ya never know!

(Source)

After looking at different schools and talking with Luvy, family, and friends, I decided to go to the University of Louisville to get my Masters of Education in Community Health.  This will open several doors for me, and will give me the option to teach at a dental hygiene school in the future if I want.  I love working with college students and I knew I wanted a degree that would allow for me to teach at a hygiene school, so this program was a perfect fit for me!  I won’t be done anytime soon, because I can only take one class at a time.  Otherwise, I would have to quit work, and I’m not willing to do that.

I didn’t get home until late tonight!  Thank goodness for slow cookers!!  I made a delish Pumpkin Chili!!

Recipe to come tomorrow!

I’m super sleepy tonight.  I’m off to relax and get ready to go back to work tomorrow…. that is if we don’t get a ton of snow!  Daddy got 11 inches in East Tennessee!!

How many of you enjoy this cold weather?? Personally, I’m ready for summer again!

One thought on “Going Back To School

Leave a Reply

