Pumpkin Chili and Another Snow Day

Who’s ready for spring??  I know I am.  Snow is pretty and all, but without a fireplace and “nowhere to go” it stinks!  Plus, Luvy wasn’t here with me!

I’m so not ready to go back to work tomorrow now that we had a snow day today.  I am liking all that I’m getting accomplished around the house!  Eventually though, I would go stir crazy without a job. I am hoping the roads are clear enough to be back to work tomorrow!

With the snow coming down this morning, Luvy had to make his way to the seminary for class.  It always makes me nervous when he has to drive in the snow for some reason.  I know I shouldn’t worry like I do…  God’s still workin’ on me!  I am a worry wart.  At least he had a warm lunch to power him through his long day!  He took leftover Pumpkin Chili!!

Here is the recipe as promised.  It was Luvy approved.  I’m pretty critical of my cooking, and I must say it was a very good dish!

Pumpkin Chili– adapted from (never home) maker’s Pumpkin Chili

  • 1 can chickpeas drained and rinsed (or 1 1/2 cups cooked)
  • 1 can black beans drained and rinsed (or 1 1/2 cups cooked)
  • 2 cans of tomatoes
  • 1 can Libby’s pumpkin
  • 1 cup corn
  • 1 leek diced (can sub onion)
  • 3 large cloves of garlic diced
  • 3 cups water or vegetable broth
  • 1 Tbsp smoked paprika
  • 2 tsp cilantro
  • salt and pepper to taste

Put all ingredients in crockpot and cook on high for 4 hours.  YUM!

I hope all of you are staying warm on this snowy night.  My parents both have a TON of snow.  East TN got 2 snow storms plus a bit of ice.  Be safe my loves!

I’m off to finish the last bit of work for my independent study so that I have a fresh start to this new semester.  Hopefully, I can get it finished tonight.  I won’t know what to do tomorrow if I have no school work plus a clean house!!  I don’t think that has happened in a LONG time!

How many of you had a snow day today?  What do you like to do on snow days?? I like to make a hot breakfast, sit on the couch with my blanket and watch Regis and Kelly… oh wait.. I did that!  (after I had dusted and mopped already!)

One thought on “Pumpkin Chili and Another Snow Day

  1. Pingback: Tastefully Tennessee « Delights and Delectables

Leave a Reply

