Lessons Learned

We got our TV fixed at work!!  Regis and Kelly is back in my life.  What did I do without them for the past 3 months?!?  Oh yeah… cleaned teeth.  : )

I was wanting to be adventurous in kitchen, and make a large loaf of bread.  Luvy and I tear through my homemade bread. (Thanks again, Mom and Mike)  I have been making a “regular” loaf, but it seems like it is gone in just a couple of days.

I don’t know if it was in my laziness of not wanting to constantly make bread, or in my kitchen creativity where I tried to double the recipe.  It did not turn out well.  We salvaged about 2/3 of the bread, but I wouldn’t recommend doubling the recipe again! Lesson learned.

Being the competitive person I am, I was NOT going to let a bread machine have the best of me!  I WILL get my large loaf…. without the gooey, uncooked overflow.

This time it came out just PERFECT!  

Whole Wheat Bread- Large Loaf

  • 1 1/2 cups almond milk (or milk of choice)
  • 2 Tbsp honey
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 2 1/4 cups bread or all-purpose flour (unbleached!!)
  • 1 1/2 cups whole wheat flour
  • 2 1/4 tsp vital wheat gluten
  • 2 1/4 tsp yeast

Add the ingredients in the order your machine calls for.  Patiently wait the 4 hours for it to cook.  Drool.

Take bread out… do not wait for it to cool before cutting and devouring like you haven’t eaten in a week.  🙂  (or maybe the last part is just what I do..)

They are calling for snow tomorrow.  Luvy needed milk, but there was no way I was facing a bunch of crazies at Kroger for some milk.  Lesson learned last time!

Are any of you tired of the snow and cold?? I AM!!!!

 

One thought on “Lessons Learned

Leave a Reply

