For the Love of Oatmeal

Sorry about skipping out on you all yesterday.  These antibiotics are not agreeing with me.

I felt super sick last night after dinner, so Luvy and I hit the couch and watched Bones.  Love that show!

Anywho, after the LEAP testing and finding out I had a sensitivity to oats, I was devastated.  I had oats about every morning for breakfast.  Now, I have been able to add them back in, and I haven’t noticed any trouble so far.  

I love to jazz up my oats.  I can’t eat them plain with just milk and sugar.. eeck.  I love making new creations with my oatmeal.  Since I have only had it in my diet for a couple of days now, here are two of the concoctions I have made:

Pumpkin Pie Oats

  • 1/3 cup oats
  • 1/2 banana
  • 1/2 TBSP chia seeds
  • 1/3 cup pumpkin
  • 1 cup water
  • pumpkin pie spice
  • cinnamon

Cook oats, banana, chia seeds, and spices until oats are good and creamy.  Stir in pumpkin and add a splash of milk to make it good and creamy.  Topped with granola and almond butter.

Blueberry/ Banana Oats

  • 1/3 cup oats
  • 1 cup water
  • cinnamon
  • 1/2 TBSP chia seeds
  • 1/2 banana
  • big handful of blueberries

Cook oats, banana, chia seeds, and cinnamon until creamy.  Stir in a splash of milk and blueberries at the end.  I topped this with granola and cashew butter.

Mix-ins are so fun with oats.  If you don’t like banana try some unsweetened and natural applesauce.  Other mix in to try are cooked apples, peaches, strawberries, blackberries, raspberries, craisins, raisins…

The options are endless!!

However, the toppings are my favorite part!

I ALWAYS add some sort of nut butter.  I love peanut butter, but I haven’t been able to add it into my diet yet.  Some other nut butters I love are: almond, cashew, and sunflower butter.  You can get all of these at Whole Foods, Trader Joes, or Earthfare.

I also love the crunch of granola.  I have two homemade granolas that I use.  I’ll post the recipes soon!  I also have been known to crumble muffins on top of my oats.  

Nuts also make for a great crunch on top of your oats, as well.

One thing that I can’t wait to try on my oats is coconut butter!  I get to add in coconut this week, so I’m off to Whole Foods!!!

This week is a hectic one with all my school work, and we are packing to leave for PERU!! More on that later.  I am going to post as much as I can, but be patient with me.  My plate is a little too full.  To be honest, I’m really hating school right now. I keep telling myself that it will pay off one day.  : (  Pray for me please!!!

Are any of you overwhelmed and busy right now??

 


3 thoughts on “For the Love of Oatmeal

  1. Pingback: Empty Jar?? « Delights and Delectables

  2. Pingback: Empty Jar??

  3. Pingback: Strawberry Banana Oats

Leave a Reply

