Snow, snow go away…

I’m tired of the snow.  At first, I thought it was very pretty, but now… I’m over it!

We missed a 1/2 day at work today because of snow.  Plus, I don’t think any of the kids and teachers are going to get a summer vacation at this point.  : )

Since I was off, I got to do some school stuff.  I feel much less overwhelmed now.  Maybe the snow was God’s answer to my prayers for more time??  So maybe I shouldn’t complain, eh??

I had a little extra time today, so for a snack I made a SIAB (smoothie in a bowl).  I first saw this on Kath’s blog.  I have been making them for a while now, and thought that tonight I would share my bowl with you all.  I love love love SIABs.  They are quite filling, and they are packed with good nutrition.

Snow Day SIAB

  • 1 banana
  • 1 TBSP chia seeds
  • big handful of spinach
  • 5-6 strawberries
  • blackberries (I didn’t measure)
  • a couple wedges of pineapple
  • almond milk (or regular, hemp, coconut, rice, or soy)

Put all ingredients into your blender.

Add in more milk as needed.  Blend until well combined.

Pour into bowl.  I put mine in the fridge after this to let the chia seeds set and swell up.

Top with granola, muffin, nuts, nut butter, coconut, etc.  Today, I topped mine with granola and cashew butter.  This was a great post workout snack.  It was one huge bowl!!

Plus, it was a great way to get in some green veggies.  You can’t taste the spinach- I promise!

For more great oatmeal ideas and SIAB ideas, go to Kath’s blog.  She has some awesome stuff.  Her recipes are all great.

I’m looking forward to next week, because it is summer time in Peru.  You know you are jealous!  ; )

How many of you are ready for summer time??? I love the sweltering hot.. bring it on!

Leave a Reply

