Feeling Droopy??

…That’s Poopy!

That is the line from my favorite card that Luvy got me when I wasn’t feeling well one day.  : )

I should resend it to him.. he is still sick!  He says he is feeling better each day.

Since neither of us really had an appetite tonight, I made what I thought was a 20 minute meal.  They didn’t put a disclaimer on my pressure cooker that if you do soup, it takes 30 minutes to pressurize!!  I could have cooked this in the same time on the stove top!

It was WONDERFUL though.

Split Pea and Butternut Squash Soup

  • 1 lb. or 2 cups of split peas
  • 1 medium onion
  • 3 celery stalks
  • 1/2 butternut squash (a/b 2.5 cups)
  • 1 tsp curry
  • 1/2 tsp garam masala
  • 1/2 tsp cumin
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 10 cups water or vegetable broth

Chop all veggies.

Sauté onions in a little bit of oil.  Add all ingredients in a large stock pot.

Bring to a boil.  Simmer for 1 hour.

Pressure cooker version:

Add all ingredients into stockpot.

Cook on high for 10 minutes.

VOILA!  

This soup was just what the doctor ordered for Luvy.  🙂

We are about to watch What’s Eating Gilbert Grape for a class assignment.  I’m certainly not complaining about this assignment!

What are some other good foods for when you are sick?? I’m trying to feed him nutrient packed foods to fight whatever it is he has!

Leave a Reply

