Hot Things

So… about that hot date.

We met up with Luvy’s friend from high school, Gigi, and her husband, Rich, at Bonefish last night!  

I had never met Gigi before, but the conversation never stopped!  I LOVE these two.  I’m so glad that they relocated to Louisville!!

The food, of course, was wonderful.  Per usual, I got the salmon, steamed broccoli, and asparagus.

Luvy got one of the specials.  It was haddock with artichokes and mashed potatoes.  He said it was to die for!

Gigi got another one of the specials.  It was called the Drunken Munk.  🙂  It looked fantastic. 

I have a feeling that we will be seeing a lot more of these two- that is if they will have us.  🙂

Today we just hung around the house and did some major cleaning.  Luvy did most of it though.  It always makes me feel guilty when he does most of the cleaning.  I got a lot of school work done that I was backed up on.

After much deliberation (all on my part because I can’t make decisions), we FINALLY decided on dinner.  Today marks the first day that I start adding in foods that I’m truly allergic to.  For the next two weeks, I will be eating cauliflower to see how my body reacts.

So for dinner, we had grilled chicken (I had Quorn chicken), steamed broccoli and cauliflower, and MAC AND CHEESE!!

Since I can’t have dairy, you may be wondering how I can have mac and cheese… Well, Luvy bought me some Daiya cheese.  It is so good!  It is made from pea protein instead of soy, so it is LEAP friendly.  I have had other vegan cheeses, and this one is the best!  However, it is like $4 a bag.  But used sparingly, it is worth it.

Vegan Mac and Cheese

  • 4 cups of pasta shells (or whatever pasta you prefer)
  • 1/2 cup of unsweetened almond milk
  • 1 Tbsp soy free earth balance
  • 1 Tbsp nutritional yeast
  • 3/4 cup Daiya cheddar style cheese
  • salt and pepper
  • paprika to garnish (optional)

Cook pasta according to package directions.

In a saucepan, combine the milk, earth balance, and nutritonal yeast.  

Bring to a simmer and add in the cheese.  Stir constantly until cheese is melted. Add in salt and pepper to taste.

Drain noodles and pour cheese sauce over noodles.  

Garnish with paprika- do it!  It is so good!

I have confession to make.  I have a problem with hot things… I burn myself and other things (mostly plastic) all the time. Tonight, I melted the top to my FAVORITE kitchen gadget!  It is a 4 cup batter bowl from Pampered Chef.  I’m an idiot.

Now, I’m stuffed and annoyed, so I’m going to hit the couch for some time with Luvy.

Sorry for the long post tonight… had to make up for lost time yesterday.  We had so much fun that we didn’t get home until almost 10!

Do you all have a problem melting things?? I’m thinking it must just be me!

 

2 thoughts on “Hot Things

  1. I love your blog (and not just because there is a fantastic picture of Rich and I on it today!) Ha! We had such a wonderful time on our date night Friday. I can’t wait for us to meet up again and enjoy some more yummy food. Mac and cheese is my favorite guilty pleasure – maybe one day I will try your dairy-free version to mix it up a little.

  2. Pingback: Walking Disaster « Delights and Delectables

Leave a Reply

