Love and Curry

I love my husband.

I love him because he is the most thoughtful, considerate, loving, and kind person on the planet.  (Back off ladies!)

He had to be at the hospital for a surgery early this morning.  He left about 6:15.  😦  I woke up sad, because I had to spend Valentine’s Day morning alone.  He is always full of surprises.  I went in to the bathroom to brush my teeth and found this:

Of course, I had no idea what it said until I found my contacts…  🙂

Luvy said he wouldn’t be home until 5 or 6 tonight, so I came home a little bummed at lunch.  To my surprise, Luvy was at home for lunch!!  AND he came bearing gifts.  We don’t usually do gifts for Valentine’s Day, but I’ll make an exception.  😉

He found these adorable pancake molds on Amazon.  One is a heart and the other is a daisy- one of my favorite flowers.  It is the friendliest flower!

Dinner tonight was such a treat.  We both love Indian and curry (sorry Barbara!).  I must confess I made this on Saturday for tonight.  I think curries and Indian is always MUCH better when it sits for a day or so to let all the spices and flavors come out.

I ate 1.5 huge pasta bowls full!  It is so good and so good for you!

Mixed Vegetable Curry with Basmati Rice

  • 1 cup red onion cut into 1/2 moons
  • 1/2 Tbsp of oil (I used coconut)
  • 1 Tbsp flour (I used chickpea)
  • 1 cup vegetable stock (or water)
  • 2 Tbsp curry powder
  • 1/2 acorn squash cut into cubes
  • 2 cups chopped broccoli
  • 2 cups chopped cauliflower
  • 1 cup coconut milk
  • 1 cup chickpeas (or diced chicken)
  • 2/3 cup frozen peas- thawed
  • 1 1/2 Tbsp chopped mint
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1 cup basmati rice (we like whole grain brown best)
  • 2 cups water
  • 1/2 tsp coconut oil (opt.)

In saucepan, bring water to a boil.  Add in rice and coconut oil.  Reduce heat to low and cook according to package directions. DO NOT LIFT THE LID UNTIL FINISHED!  This will hinder the cooking of the rice.

In a large pot, saute red onion in oil for about 5 minutes or until translucent.  Add in flour.  Cook for 1 minute to slightly brown.

Add in vegetable stock(or water) and curry powder.  Stir well.  Cook over medium heat until starting to thicken. (Look at that steam!)

Add in squash, broccoli, and cauliflower.  Stir well.  

Cover, reduce heat to low and simmer for 30 minutes or until vegetables are tender.

Add in coconut milk, peas, chickpeas, mint, salt and pepper.  Stir well and simmer for an additional 5 minutes.

Taste and adjust seasonings as needed.

Serve curry over rice.

It is soooo good!

Off to hang out with my Luvy!

Happy Valentine’s Day!!

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Love and Curry

  1. Pingback: A Heart Because I Love YOU « Delights and Delectables

  2. Pingback: Hogan’s Goat « Delights and Delectables

Leave a Reply

