Rest Day(s)

Sometimes I’m just tired.  Today was one of those days.  The thought of doing a push up made me want to curl up in a fetal position and hide.

Not to mention with the weather changing and allergies, I woke up with a delightful headache.  It has stuck with me all day.  😦

Luvy and I had planned to run this afternoon after work.  It would have been my first run since October!!  Sometimes, you just have to listen to your body.

I love love love to exercise.  The harder my heart beats and the sweatier I get, the better!  However, I have learned that sometimes your body needs a break.  The past couple of weeks, I have only been working out 3 days a week because my body has been too exhausted.  This was a hard thing for me, because I love the feeling of a good hard workout.

I am learning though that it is okay to take time off.  Your body needs exercise, don’t get me wrong.  They recommend doing moderate to vigorous exercise for at least 30 minutes 5 days a week.  However, sometimes your body needs a recovery break.  If you continue to work out when you are exhausted you can injure yourself, burn out, and/or just half-way your workout.  Your form will not be right, and you won’t push yourself as hard.  It is better to rest up and exercise when you are at 100% so not to injure yourself.

So, in the spirit of resting, I’m off to take a hot bath, watch Bones with Luvy, and turn in early tonight.

My new running shoes will have to wait for the weekend.

Do you all have a hard time taking rest days?  How do you make sure you aren’t over-training?

Leave a Reply

