Wednesday Night Stew

Wednesday meals are always quick and something I can keep warm for a long time.  Luvy gets in at different times every week, so I try to do meals that I can keep warm without sacrificing flavor.

Months and months ago, I was shopping at Whole Foods and I tried their Red Lentil and Artichoke Stew.  I was ‘that girl’ who came by the table more than once for a “taste” of their samples.  It was wonderful!  Lucky for me, they were giving out the recipe.

Unfortunately, I started the LEAP program right after that, so I am just now able to try out this recipe!

Red Lentil and Artichoke Stew (adapted from The Vegan Table courtesy of Whole Foods)

  • 2 cups of water
  • 1 large yellow onion chopped
  • 3 garlic cloves minced
  • 2 tsp cumin
  • 1 tsp coriander
  • 1 cup dry red lentils (do not use brown!)
  • 1 bay leaf
  • 1 Tbsp lemon juice, fresh squeezed is best
  • 2 cans of fire roasted tomatoes with juice
  • 1 1/2 cups quartered artichoke hearts (or 1 can drained and rinsed)
  • 1/2 tsp crushed red pepper flakes
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp pepper

Pour about 1/4 cup of water in the bottom of a large pot and heat over medium heat.  Add the onion and cook until soft, about 7 minutes.  Add in the garlic, cumin, and coriander and cook for 2 minutes.  Stir frequently.  You may need to add more water here.

Add in the remaining ingredients and bring to a boil.  Lower heat and simmer for 30 minutes or until lentils are tender.  Add more water if it becomes too thick.  (I added in about another 1/2 cup or so)  

Remove bay leaf and serve over brown rice.

This was so good.  It is supposed to serve 4, but it served a hungry Luv and Luvy with about 1 cup left over.  It makes about 8 cups.

I think this is my favorite red lentil recipe to date.  It was so fast, easy, and the flavors got better with time!

How is y’all week going?

One thought on “Wednesday Night Stew

Leave a Reply

