Bootcamp X 2

I spent my morning and early afternoon at Baby Bootcamp.  This is a WONDERFUL ministry put on by our church.

It is for teenage moms.  We bring in nurses to talk to the girls about how to take care of their babies, we present the gospel, and then give them lots of goodies.  I didn’t take pictures of any of the girls for privacy purposes, but take a look at this cake!

I took some home to Luvy, and he said it was wonderful!

I had so much fun with the girls.  

They are a mess!

Plus, it was great getting to know them better, and make new friends!  🙂

After baby bootcamp, Luvy and I set out for a mini bootcamp of our own.  I tried running today for the first time in months!  Let’s just say… I’m outta shape.  I was huffing before a 1/2 mile was up.  We ended up running a 5K at a little under a 9 minute mile pace.  

Not so shabby considering it has been so long since I have run.  I ran my 1/2 marathon at an 8:27 pace…  I’ve got a ways to go before I’m back there again!!  BUT it felt great to RUN!

My knee started hurting again toward the end, but nothing too bad.  Insanity certainly doesn’t work me out like running does!

We didn’t get home until 6:30, so we threw together a quick dinner with a can of beans and leftovers!

In a Jiffy Black Bean Burgers

  • 1 small onion
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • 1 can of beans drained and rinsed
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • 1 tsp chili powder
  • 1 tsp parsley
  • 1/4 cup pumpkin
  • 1 1/4 cups of cooked millet

Saute your onion and garlic until soft.  Mash beans.  Add all ingredients into beans.  Form patties using a 1/4 cup measuring cup.  Bake on cookie sheet on 375° for 15 minutes on each side.

While I worked on the burgers, Luvy made a beautiful salad!! 

Dinner was fast, and SO good.  We ate the burgers on the homemade bread that Luvy made today!!

How was y’alls Saturday???

3 thoughts on “Bootcamp X 2

  1. Baby Boot Camp was great and rewarding but I will have to say that spending my day with you was awesome…Thank you for the entertainment AND of course the start of a new friendship (I promise not to look at you like you have 3 heads)! 🙂

  2. Baby Boot Camp was wonderful this year and I have received several phone calls from the community thanking us for this ministry! It is so wonderful to serve with women who love the Lord and want to tell others that God loves them too!

Leave a Reply

