Empty Jar??

Don’t be sad…

I LOVE when my favorite nut butter jars get low… It means oats in a jar!!

Whenever my nut butter jars start to look like this:

I just whip up a good batch of oats, and pour it into the jar. It’s oats in a jar (OIAJ)!  Be careful if the jar is not glass.  If the oats are really hot, the plastic will melt!!

Kath is the queen of OIAJ and oats period.  Check out her tribute to oatmeal!

I love my pumpkin oats in sunflower butter.

My favorite peanut butter is Trader Joe’s Roasted Flaxseed Peanut Butter, and it is amazing with strawberry- banana oats.

Strawberry Banana Oats

  • 1/3 cup oats
  • 1 Tbsp chia seeds
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • dash of cinnamon
  • dash of salt
  • 1 cup water or milk of choice (I do 1/2 water and 1/2 almond milk)
  • 1/2 banana
  • 3-4 large strawberries

Cook oats, chia seeds, vanilla, cinnamon, salt, and water or milk in a saucepan until oats are tender and chia seeds are nice and gelled.  When oats are finished, stir in strawberries and banana.  I usually add a little more milk at the end to cool it some and so that the oats aren’t so thick.  As always, I topped with granola!

You can cook this in a microwave.  It is quicker, but I don’t think it is as good.  However, during the week I cook my oats in the microwave.

Microwave Oats

Add in oats, chia seeds, vanilla, cinnamon, any other seasonings, and water/milk.  Cook on high for 1 minute to 1 1/2 minutes.  Stir.  Cook another minute.  Watch this carefully because it can (and will) boil over.  Trust me.  Stir and cook for another 30 seconds to a minute or until oats are done.  Add in fruit, pumpkin, or whatever filling and toppings you desire!

What are you all up to this weekend??  We have a fun dinner party tomorrow!!

Leave a Reply

