What the Hail?!?!

I don’t like storms.  Period.

Today, Cleopatra (my beautiful car) was stuck out in the storm and hail.  I haven’t even bothered to look and see if she got dents or not.  I’m hoping for not.

Of course it couldn’t hail when I was at home and Cleopatra was nestled safely in the garage!!

So, there is something that has been rubbing me the wrong way.  I’m not going to get deeply into this subject tonight, but don’t worry… I will.

A discount retail store, Matalan, is under review now for selling padded bras to 8-year old little girls!!!!  The article can be found here.  

You have GOT to be kidding me.  An 8-year-old shouldn’t be concerned about her bra size!  She should be enjoying her childhood and playing with dolls.  Hail doesn’t have anything on this!

What are we women allowing society to teach these girls??  What is our response?

We allow for women to be exploited, and we put so much pressure on women to look a certain way.  Just make your way down the grocery checkout aisle.  Every magazine there is going to tell you how to lose 10 lbs and get that flat stomach.

Society puts more value in the way a woman’s body looks than on her virtue.  Unfortunately, many are buying into this lie, and in return we teach it to our children and younger girls that look up to us.  We have told them that they need to look a certain way and be “sexy”.

I do not want my future children to be self-conscious and feel the need to look any way but the way God made her.

What can we do as women to change this??  What message are we sending the women and children in our lives?? I want to hear your thoughts on this.

 

One thought on “What the Hail?!?!

  1. I saw a commercial for a new series the other day. In it, a mother (a pin up model) was discussing with her fourteen year old that in about two years she would allow her to get breast implants. I was shocked…and creeped out. Our media messages to young women are unacceptable- I agree.

Leave a Reply

