The Cure?

It has now been MONTHS since my last successful run.  I have been missing it.

Now that it is getting warmer, I have really been wanting to go for a run.  I don’t like going to the doctor unless I just have to.  I finally decided it was time to see someone about my knee.

Today, I went to an orthopedic surgeon here in Louisville.  He was extremely nice and was very thorough.

I was braced for the worst… like something was torn or something like that.  I was so happy when he told me that I have runner’s knee.  I felt so silly going to him for a tight IT band!!  However, he told me that mine wasn’t going to work itself out on its own.

I had two choices: weeks of physical therapy or a cortisone shot.  I’m not one for needles.  However, he said that he would go with the shot.  He thought that I would have better results from the shot.

SO… the shot it was.  He said to stay off of it for two days and I can try running in a week!

Hopefully this is the cure for my knee!!!!

So what does a girl do when she can’t exercise and her knee hurts???

Eat leftover cake!

Carob Cake (adapted form Chatfield’s Grandpa Snyder’s Carob Cake)

Cake:

  • 1/2 cup whole wheat pastry flour
  • 3/4 cup + 1 Tbsp all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 cup carob
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/3 cup agave nectar
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 Tbsp lemon juice
  • 6 Tbsp apple sauce
  • 1 cup water

Mix wet together.  Sift in dry ingredients.  Pour into cake pan and bake on 350° for 25-30 minutes.  I baked mine for 25.

Frosting:

  • 3 Tbsp agave nectar
  • 1Tbsp carob
  • 1 Tbsp Earth Balance (or other butter)
  • 2 Tbsp almond milk (or other milk)
  • 6 Tbsp powdered sugar
  • 1/4 tsp vanilla

Mix agave, carob, earth balance, and milk in saucepan.  Bring to a boil and boil for 3 minutes.  Allow to cool for a couple of minutes.  Stir in powdered sugar and vanilla.  Spread on cooled cake.

Top cake with strawberries and try not to eat the entire cake!

This cake was Luvy approved!

I’m off to ice my knee.  I’m sure hoping this works!

One thought on “The Cure?

Leave a Reply

