Derby-Day Delights

Luvy and I spent a relaxing day together.

We made big bowls of oatmeal for breakfast and read on the couch.  We were reading and preparing for our special guests that were coming for dinner.  I exercised while Luvy did more reading/studying.  Then, he joined me for an ab workout!!  Love him!

We ate a quick lunch, got all dressed up, and headed out the door for the seminary.

The memorial service for Professor Stam went just how I thought it would.  It was a celebration of his life and so focused on worshipping our Lord and Savior.  I left there wishing I had known this man and so thankful that Luvy had gotten to know him.  I hope when I die that just half of what was said of that man will be said of me!  He lived an incredible life that was centered on Christ.  What a legacy and testimony!

We scurried to the grocery and then home.  We had special guests arriving!!

Luvy whipped up some of daddy’s ground beef and made a spaghetti sauce.  (My daddy has a beef farm..)  I whipped up some “homemade” vegetarian sauce.  It was pretty good.  I found out that I can’t have the canned because almost all of them have paprika or red pepper in them.  That is considered bell pepper, so I can’t have them.  😦  Stink.  I found one sauce that I could have at Whole Foods, but it was like $4 a jar.  No thanks..  I’ll keep my right arm and my first born thank you!

Since I didn’t have a jar of sauce, I created a sauce.

Luv’s Homemade Pasta Sauce

  • 1 can tomato sauce
  • 1 can tomato paste
  • 1 can diced tomatoes
  • 1 Tbsp sugar
  • 2 Tbsp chopped fresh basil
  • 1 large clove garlic diced
  • 1/2 tsp black pepper
  • 2 tsp oregano

Combine all ingredients in a sauce pan.  Bring to a light boil.  Tilt lid and let simmer for about 1 hour.  Stir occasionally.  Adjust seasonings as needed.

About 6, Audra and Tyler came for dinner!  With veggies roasting, sauces going, noodles boiling, and the horses racing…I forgot the bread!!  Oopsy.  It’s a good thing Audra said she liked crispy bread.  She sure got crispy bread.  

I had a mix of spaghetti squash, grilled eggplant, spaghetti, shrooms, broccoli, sauce, and nutritional yeast.  I also toasted some great harvest bread for myself with earth balance and garlic salt.  I ate WAY too much.  I had to untie my cardigan because I had a food baby.

Audra’s bowl was so pretty that I HAD  to get a picture.  I’m so glad that my friends don’t think I’m a weirdo for taking pictures of them and their food… Or if they do, they embrace me for my weirdness.

I love this couple.  They are adorable, and they are getting married in June!!  Luvy has the honor of marrying them.

Tonight, we did our first premarital counseling session with them.  I’m looking forward to our next few sessions!  Next time, we discuss gender roles in marriage!!  That is always a fun topic for me.

Since we aren’t from here, the derby isn’t that big of a deal to us.  However, we did watch it!  One of these days I’m going to get me a derby hat!  🙂

Big congrats to my soon-to-be cousin, Amanda, on graduating today!!   I wish we could have been there to celebrate with you!!

How was y’alls Derby Saturday??

Leave a Reply

