Take that Chipotle!

The one place that I LOVE to eat but haven’t been able to eat at is Chipotle.  I LOVE that place.

However, they cook with soybean oil, and there is bell pepper in EVERYTHING.  😦

Boo.  I saw MamaPea’s Almost Chipotle Guacamole, and I knew that I had to try it!

The recipe is here.  Let me tell you… it is AWESOME!  I left out the sriracha sauce. (peppers..)  I could have eaten the entire bowl!

With the guac in mind, I wanted to make a mock Chipotle burrito bowl.

Since I had rice yesterday, I subbed millet in its place.  Cilantro lime rice would be wonderful in this though.

Luv’s Mock Chipotle Bowl

  • Spinach
  • Millet (or rice)
  • Adzuki beans
  • roasted brussels
  • roasted butternut squash
  • Guacamole
  • Cilantro
  • Lime

I started out by cooking my adzuki beans in my pressure cooker on high for 15 minutes.  I cooked them with my Chinese 5-Spice seasoning. YUM!

Meanwhile, I chopped my butternut squash and brussels.  I tossed them in a little sunflower oil and salt and peppered the brussels.  I cooked them for 25 minutes on 450º.

I love making millet, because it is so versatile.  I love to toast my millet first for a more nutty flavor.  I almost reminds me of popcorn.

While your water is coming to a boil, you just put your millet in a dry skillet on high.  It will begin to pop – you will hear it.  Stir to prevent burning.  You want it to get a nice brownish color.

Then, put in simmering water, turn to low and simmer for 20 minutes with lid on.  Don’t lift the lid!!

We topped our salads with fresh cilantro and fresh squeezed lime!

I hadn’t been creative in the kitchen in a long time!  This meal was so good, and it made me feel very accomplished!

What a great start to the week!

I hope all you mom’s out there had a very happy Mother’s Day!!

2 thoughts on “Take that Chipotle!

  1. Pingback: Jammin’ « Delights and Delectables

  2. Pingback: Cookin’ and Bakin’ « Delights and Delectables

Leave a Reply

