Delightful (Healthy) Lasagna

I’m so glad it is warming back up!  I got spoiled by the warm weather, and then it turned cold again.

When it turned back cold on Monday, I knew exactly what I wanted to make.  We had it again tonight as leftovers, and it is was so good that I decided to share it with you all!

I love tofu.  LOVE LOVE LOVE it.  However, I do not like to eat it out much, because it can be very spongy or not cooked through.  One time, I was served raw tofu!  Yuck.

Tofu can sometimes be scary to make at home, but this is a fool proof recipe to try at home.  Trust me, even meat eaters will love this, and they will never know it is tofu!  🙂

I found this recipe a long time ago when I wanted to find a vegan way to eat lasagna.  I am badly lactose intolerant, so I avoid dairy at all costs.  Lasagna has always looked good to me, but I have never been able to eat it.  Plus, it isn’t the healthiest of choices.

I stumbled upon one of my absolute favorite blogs, Happy Herbivore, about a year ago and found an amazing lasagna recipe.  I adapted it just a bit to suit what I had in my kitchen and for our tastes.

Healthy Veggie Lasagna (based on Happy Herbivore’s Vegetable Lasagna)

  • 6 whole wheat lasagna noodles (for gluten free: use rice noodles)
  • 1 large zucchini sliced or 2 small
  • 1 large yellow squash sliced or 2 small
  • 1 eggplant sliced
  • 10-12 mushrooms sliced
  • 1 jar of pasta sauce
  • couple handfuls of spinach
  • 1 recipe of tofu ricotta
  • 1/4 cup Daiya mozzarella cheese (or regular cheese)
  • seasonings: parsley, oregano, salt, pepper, and red pepper flakes (opt)

First, open your tofu and wrap it in a few paper towels and press it under a cook book or heavy pan.  While it drains, start a pot of water to boil.

Chop your veggies while tofu drains.

When water comes to a boil, cook your noodles until al dente.  Next, make your tofu ricotta.

Spread some pasta sauce at the bottom of the pan.  Place 3 noodles side by side.

Spread 1/2 of tofu over noodles, and spread some pasta sauce over tofu.

Layer eggplant, squash, and zucchini.  Place the mushrooms over the veggies and then top with spinach.  It will seem high, but it will cook down.  Promise.

Spread more pasta sauce over spinach.  Now, spread the cheese over   Then, place the remaining 3 noodles over spinach.

Top with the rest of tofu and remaining pasta sauce.

Cover with foil and cook on 350° for 45min to 1 hour.

Let it sit for 15 minutes or so before cutting.

Serve up and enjoy!

Tofu Ricotta (based on Happy Herbivore’s Tofu Ricotta)

  • 1 block of lite extra firm tofu
  • 1/4 cup nutritional yeast
  • 2 tsp basil
  • 2 tsp parsley
  • 2 tsp oregano
  • 1/2 tsp garlic powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp pepper
  • juice from 1/4 of a lemon (or about 1 tsp)

Take your drained block of tofu and crumble it with your fingers.

Dump remaining ingredients into tofu, and mix well with a fork.

It’s that easy!  Please let me know what you all think!

Plus, it makes for GREAT leftovers.  It’s a good thing we didn’t have to cook tonight, because we are running crazy.

Our schedule and to do list is so full that we don’t know if we are coming or going!!  Not sure when I’ll see you again.

Hopefully before my head explodes!!

Next week, I promise promise promise to update my recipe page!!

Leave a Reply

