Healthy and Hectic

Sorry that I have been dragging a bit around here.  I know I haven’t been pulling my weight on blogging entertaining and delicious things for you all to enjoy.  The truth is..  my life is very boring sometimes.

The past few days I have been scrubbing, dusting, mopping, shopping, and getting everything all ready for this weekend and next week. Luvy’s parents are coming to see us TOMORROW, and I knew I had to have everything taken care of by last night or it wouldn’t get done.  Plus, we are leaving at the end of next week on a mission trip!

I think I am just going to change my name to busy.  That is what best describes our lives right now… busy busy busy.  Not to mention that I have that big decision to make by Friday.  My hair appointment is Friday morning, and I still have no clue what to do!!  I’m so indecisive!

Since we are so busy these days, I thought I would chat a little bit about how to stay healthy when you don’t know if you are coming or going.  I can only imagine what it is like for those of you with kids!

How to:  Stay Healthy When its Hectic

1. Sneak in exercise.  If it is only a 10-15 minute jog or walk- TAKE IT!  Tonight, I wanted to do some yoga to calm myself and stretch out, but there was no time for that.  I knew I only had 15-20 minutes.  I found this blog a few months ago, but I had never tried the workouts.  I decided tonight was the perfect night to try one out.  Zuzana is ridiculously in shape.  I just pretend I don’t notice that and move on.  This workout was short, but intense.  She has several workouts on her site, and I can’t wait to try more of them out!  And just so you know.. I count cleaning and gardening as exercise!

2. Plan, plan, plan.  Try to plan out your meals so that you don’t catch yourself in a drive-thru.  I try to plan out my meals every Sunday.  (key word… try!).  I also get Luvy to tell me his schedule ahead of time so that I know what time he will be home for dinner each night.  Also, plan in exercise time.  You plan everything else, so don’t sell yourself short in this area.

3. Relax.  Take at least 5-10 minutes each day to just sit down and relax.  I love to read my Bible in the mornings before breakfast.  This allows me to forget the day and the craziness that looms ahead and focus on the Lord.  It sets the tone for my day.  If I miss a day, my attitude and life shows it!

4. Pack it up.  Pack snacks like fruit, nuts, granola bars, etc. for when you are out.  That way if you are caught out and you are starving, you have something healthy with you.  This way those golden arches don’t tempt you.  I always have some sort of food with me!

5. Freeze ahead of time.  When things are at a stand still sometimes or I am already cooking, I will make extra soup, chili, lentils, black bean burgers, and other freezable dishes. This way when we are in a pinch, all I have to do is thaw out a meal.  Yet another way to avoid the fast food!  Always make sure you label what is in each bag.  That is my problem right now… I don’t remember what all I put in my veggie burgers, and now that I know I have allergies I’m not sure I can eat them.  Bummer.  Luvy has a lot of veggie burgers to eat!

6.  Don’t skip meals!  They say  breakfast is the most important meal of the day, and I agree!  It gets your engine going.  You can’t expect to run at your beat if you have no fuel in your tank.  Toast, nut butter, and a banana is an easy and quick breakfast for on the go.  Luvy’s to go meal is always a PB&J.  I prefer almond butter, banana, and cinnamon!  You can also boil eggs and have them in the fridge to grab on your way out.  Of course, you all know my love of oatmeal…  🙂  If you skip meals throughout the day, it crashes your bodies metabolism.  Therefore, the body thinks you are starving it and will program itself to store everything you eat as fat in case it has to go for long periods of time without food.  This is why I am a HUGE advocate of eating several small meals a day.  Besides, it is MUCH easier on your digestive system.

7. Don’t beat yourself up.  So you ended up at Toxic Bell… so what?  Every now and then, things happen and you need food fast!  I would recommend trying to eat at a more “healthy” fast food place such as Subway, Chipotle, Moe’s, Qdoba, or other place where you can make a salad.  Those death wraps are certainly not healthy, but you can make a very nice rice and bean salad.  No one can eat perfectly, so don’t beat yourself up.  Keep going and make the best choices you can everyday.

Remember–  Time spent with those we love is much more important than the food that we eat.  I get so nervous about food and worried I will get sick after I eat that sometimes I forget this.  

Since we have been so hectic, my freezer has taken a beaten!  I’m going to have to cook up a storm to replenish!  Recently, I tried out carrots to see their effect on me.  I’m pretty certain that carrots and sweet potatoes shouldn’t be eaten on the same day.  They make sick.  😦  I had some Spanish Lentils in my freezer that I made last year!!  Sundays and Wednesdays are super crazy around here, so it has been freezer meals.  This meal will satisfy even your meat lovers, plus it is packed full of nutrients and PROTEIN!!  Good vegetarian protein!!!  I could eat my weight in lentils!

Traditional Spanish Lentils (slightly adapted from here)

  • 2 cups dried lentils (I used green/brown)
  • 1 medium tomato, diced
  • 2 medium carrots, diced
  • 1 potato, diced (I left the peel on)
  • 1 medium onion, diced
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 bay leaf
  • 1.5 tsp cumin
  • 1 tsp paprika
  • 1/2 tsp Herbes de Provence
  • 6 cups veggie broth (I use water and Organic Better than Bouillon Vegetable Base)
  • salt and pepper to taste

Saute onions and garlic in water (or olive oil if oil doesn’t bother you) in a large stockpot.  Oil bothers me.. so I stick with the water method.

Once onions and garlic are softened, add all ingredients to pot and bring to a boil.

Reduce heat and simmer 30-45 minutes or until carrots are tender.

Adjust seasonings as needed.

Serve over spinach or rice or bulgar wheat.  Add hot sauce if you so desire… YUM!

This is super easy and it freezes very well!

How do you all stay healthy when life is crazy??

One thought on “Healthy and Hectic

Leave a Reply

