Special and Spicy

I can’t believe Monday is already over!  This week is going to FLY by.

We leave at the end of this week for London, and I’m so excited!!  What is super exciting is that it looks like I am going to be able to meet up with a couple of bloggers that I have met that live in the area!!

Lots of packing ensued today to get ready.  Before I started packing, I decided to try to run again today to see how the knee felt.  I am hoping to run some in London.  I didn’t make it very far before I started feeling a twinge in my knee.  I never let it get so bad that it actually hurt, so I don’t really know how far I could have gone.  I came home, stretched, and spent the rest of the morning icing my knee.

It was so humid out that I was drenched in buckets of sweat when I got back in.  Even though I didn’t get far, I sure looked like I worked hard!  I ended up just doing some weights and ab work today.  I tend to put weights on the back burner, but they are just as important as cardio.  Thanks to my sweet friend, Mary, for reminding me of that today!

Lunch today was SUPER special.  As you all remember, my brother-in-law, Matt, is deployed to Iraq.

Today, he just happened to be on Skype while Luvy was at home for lunch waiting on a call from London.  We buzzed him, and he answered!!!!  This was the first time we have talked to him since his deployment.  It made our day.  Matt let me know he liked my hair short, and that I should cut it.  I had to tell him that I’m too big of a chicken!  It is cool that Delights and Delectables is being read in Iraq!

Matt, we are praying for you daily, and we can’t wait for you to come home!!  We miss you and love you!

I have been promising several of you my black bean burger recipe from the other night for a long time now. Sorry about that!  This recipe was adapted from my wonderful friend, Donna.  I am unsure where she got the original recipe.

Without further ado..

Spicy Black Bean Burgers

  • 1 small onion, diced
  • 1/2 bell pepper, diced
  • 3 cloves garlic, diced
  • 1 jalapeno, diced
  • 1.5 cups black beans (or one can rinsed and drained)
  • 1 cup cooked brown rice or bulgar wheat
  • 1 slice whole wheat bread
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • 1/4 tsp turmeric
  • 2 tsp chili powder
  • 1 tsp parsley
  • 1/2 tsp oregano
  • 1 Tbsp salsa

Cook onion, garlic, pepper, and jalapeno in skillet until soft.  I use water to cook mine, but feel free to use some olive oil.

Stir in seasonings and cook 1 minute to get fragrant.

Place this into a food processor and add in beans and rice*.  Process until well blended.  (* I leave some beans and rice out and add back in after the rest has processed to give it a prettier look and to make it more chunky)

Rip up bread and add into mix.  Stir in salsa.  Mix well.

Flatten 1/4 or 1/3 cup amounts onto greased baking sheet.  Bake 12-15 minutes on each side at 375°.

Try not to eat the whole pan at once!

These go well on a salad, in a burrito, or as “hamburgers”.  They also freeze very well!

Hope you all had a great Monday!!  It’s back to work tomorrow.  EEKKK!

Leave a Reply

