Jet Lag

Happy 4th of July!

Luvy and I have been walking zombies for the past couple of days.  Our lack of sleep and travels has left us extremely exhausted.  By the time this posts (I preset it to post..gotta love wordpress!), I hopefully will be fast asleep in my cozy bed while the rest of the country is shooting off fireworks.

We finally made it home, as you can see!  Second time is the charm!!

We were at the airport and our plane left at 3am EST.  We landed in DC around lunch time, and enjoyed a nice 5 hour layover there.  Booger.  Lucky for us, Dulles Airport has free WIFI!!  Luvy hit the books as much as he could while we were in limbo.

After DC, we flew to Chicago and had a nice 3 hour layover there!  After that, it was finally home sweet home!!

We don’t look tired at all do we?!?!

Thankfully, we were able to be in bed by midnight!!

Luvy had to be up bright and early for church.  I was bad and ended up sleeping through church, but I made it to Sunday School.

While we were gone, our garden grew like crazy!!  It had to be picked.

I got 2 huge bags of kale, several radishes, and turnips plus turnip greens.

Plus, our first zucchini came in!

I knew for dinner I wanted to make a nutrient rich dish to help fight off our jet lag.  Plus, I wanted to use some of my veggies from our garden!

Jet Lag Soup

  • 1 onion, diced
  • 3 cloves garlic, diced
  • 2-3 small turnips (or one large), diced
  • 4 stalks celery, diced
  • 1 can diced tomatoes (or 3 fresh chopped!)
  • 1 med/large zucchini, chopped in chunks
  • 1 can white beans, drained and rinsed (I used pinto b/c I was all I had)
  • 1/2 cup small pasta or 1/4 cup bulgar wheat (I used bulgar wheat)
  • fresh kale
  • 5-6 cups veggie broth
  • 2 tsp cumin
  • 1 tsp parsley, oregano, and thyme
  • salt, pepper, and red pepper flakes to taste

Start out by sautéing onion, garlic, turnips, and celery in a skillet until softened.

Bring veggie broth to a boil.  Add in veggies, beans, tomatoes, seasonings, and noodles or bulgar wheat.  Let simmer for 10 minutes.

Add in zucchini and cook for anther 10-15 minutes.

Add in kale. I used about 3-4 cups.  I was very generous with it, plus I had a lot to use!  Feel free to add in as much as you would like.  You may also need to adjust the broth some here as well.  Feel free to add extra broth or water.

Cook until kale is wilted down and tender.  Adjust seasonings as needed.  I like ours spicy, so I was generous with the red pepper flakes.

This soup was just what the doctor ordered for our jet lag!!

I’m back to work tomorrow, and Luvy is busy with PhD classes and work.  Doesn’t look like we have anymore time to recover from our trip.  We are just going to have to hit the ground running!!

Hope you all have had a safe and happy 4th of July!!

2 thoughts on “Jet Lag

  1. I’ve been reading your posts and enjoying them! I signed up so that I can get the email notifications. Great job in keeping up with them!!!

  2. Hey there – Brittany! So glad you made it home and are on the road to getting back in the right time zone! Your garden looks great! Keep posting…Kris

Leave a Reply

