Time is Ticking

Luvy is hard at work with his PhD classes, and I’m hard at work stressing out for him!  🙂

I’m good at stressing!!  I stress out if I have too much on my plate.  I don’t know how Luvy juggles all that he does!!  I am one of those people who has to do one thing at a time.  For example, I had Jason Aldean playing on my computer while I was working on this post, and it was stressing me out to have two things going at once.  I am a nervous ball of energy right now!

There just doesn’t seem to be enough hours in the day for him to get everything done.  He wakes up way early to study, goes to class, comes home and studies, eats, studies more, and then gets very little sleep.  He then repeats that same thing the next day!  That is his life for this week and next!

I think I’m in need of a relaxation day…. and maybe a massage….  🙂

With things crazy and not “normal” in our house, I need quick meals that cause no fuss and take little time.  Plus, I have lots of fresh veggies from the garden!  My co-worker gave me 6 HUGE squash and zucchini to use up.  Plus, I am overloaded with kale!!  I need a Vita-mix for my birthday to make green smoothies.  (hint, hint)  I’m not going to hold my breath though… they are way pricey!

I knew that I didn’t want something too hot for dinner, and I wanted lots of fresh veggies.  Also, I knew I wanted a vehicle for Mama Pea’s Mmmm Sauce that I have been eyeing for a LONG time now.

Warm Summa Time Salad

  • 2 carrots chopped (don’t bother peeling if organic)
  • 1 zucchini, chopped
  • 1 squash, chopped
  • 7-8 mushroom, chopped in chunks
  • 1 can chickpeas, rinsed and drained
  • kale, loads of it!
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • salt and pepper

In a large skillet or wok, start by sauteing carrot in a little bit of water for about 5 minutes or so.  You just want it starting to soften.  Water should be gone at this point.

Add in garlic and a little oil.  I used about 2 tsp of sunflower seed oil.  Let cook about 1 minute.

Add in mushrooms, squash, and zucchini.  Cook about 3 minutes and add in chickpeas, cumin, and salt and pepper to taste.

Add in kale and stir until starting to wilt.  Adjust seasonings as needed.  You don’t need it too seasoned, because the Mmmm Sauce will rock your world!

I served mine over millet.  Quinoa, rice, or bulgar wheat would be great too!

Top with Mmmm Sauce and red pepper flakes if desired.  I also added a garden fresh tomato for good measure!

Try not to set the salad to the side and just lap up the Mmmm Sauce!

This took me a total of 30 minutes to make.  Not too shabby considering how nutrient dense this meal was!

——-

In other news, today is one of my best friend’s birthdays!!

Michele is like my sister.  In fact, we refer to each other as sis.

We have been through everything in life together.  Now that we are “big girls”, I love her even more!  I never get to see her, because she is married with a son.  Plus, she lives in Tennessee and I’m here in Kentucky.  It is heart warming to look back at all we have been through together.

We have grown up so much!  I love you with all my heart, Michele!  I can’t believe how fast time has flown by!

I wish I was there to celebrate with her.  Maybe I’ll make some cookies tomorrow night to celebrate!  🙂  Or that cobbler from the 4th….  YUM!

2 thoughts on “Time is Ticking

  1. I know exactly how he handles the stress, Brittany. He has these two members of our cohort, Steve and John that help him along. I just don’t know how he could make it without them. They encourage and edify him all the time. Whew, maybe next time I will be that lucky!

    • He would be completely lost without John and Steve…. Steve especially. I mean, they completely do all his work for him. What does he have to stress over. 😉 I hope we can get together while you are in!!

Leave a Reply

