Combat the Bug

I think I caught a bug.  😦

Ever since Wednesday, I have been feeling a bit nauseated.  It is not like me to not be in the mood for cereal or fruit, but the thought of either makes me want to toss my cookies.

I don’t know where I got the bug.  Maybe it is from being in airports all day last Saturday.  There is nothing like recycled air on an 8 hour flight, plus all the germs in the 4 different airports I was in!!  Eeek!

Since I was off today, I didn’t set my alarm until 7:30, which is sleeping in for me.  I got up at 7:45 to pack Luvy’s lunch box and get him out the door.  I laid back down, and the next think I knew… it was 9:30!!  I haven’t slept that late in forever!

I transferred myself from the bed to the couch.  I don’t know if I was more mad that I overslept or if I missed the first 1/2 of Regis and Kelly!  Nothing sounded good for breakfast, so I made myself a quick microwave buckwheat bake.

Black and Blue Microwave Buckwheat Muffin

  • 1/4 cup applesauce
  • 3 Tbsp hemp milk (or milk of choice)
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 Tbsp buckwheat groats
  • 1/4 cup buckwheat flour
  • 1 Tbsp ground flax mixed with 2 Tbsp warm water (or 1 egg)
  • 1/4 cup blueberries and blackberries- I used frozen

Combine flax with warm water and let sit while you combine all other ingredients in a microwave safe bowl.  If using an egg, mix it in with wet ingredients and add in dry ingredients.  Microwave on high for 3 1/2 to 4 minutes.  Check to make sure it is done by pressing on the top.  If it bounces back it is finished.

I topped mine with PB2 that my friends Glenda, Steve, and Jenna picked up for me in Georgia!!!  Love them!!!

For more gluten-free buckwheat ideas, go to the incredible Ashley’s blog, The Edible Perspective.  She is the queen of buckwheat bakes!

After breakfast, I slept on the couch like a bum until close to 2pm.  I blame it on the rainy day.  🙂  I decided to get up and feed myself some nourishing food to try to combat the bug.  I was wishing I was in London again and could go across the street to Dolce and Banana and get a fresh juice.  Since I’m not, I got out my handy Jack Lalanne juicer and whipped up a juice.

I used to only juice carrots and apples, but after going to London and having all kinds of interesting mixes I’m much more adventurous!  Today’s was nutrient packed with 3 carrots, 1/2 beet, 1/2 apple, 2 celery, and a small piece of ginger.  The ginger was for the nausea.

This bunch made about 1.5 cups, and it all went down the hatch!  I also had a millet, beet, kale, apple, and broccoli salad.  Eating all my super foods today!

After lunch I managed to put real clothes on, vacuum, dust, sweep, and mop!  I even took a shower!  🙂  Oh, and I watch a Jillian Michael’s video that is new on my On Demand.  That’s just as good as doing it right????

For dinner, I didn’t want anything difficult or time-consuming.  I had been eyeing Kath’s Nutty Vanilla Sweet Potato and Kale Soup for ages.  It is more of a fallish/ winter meal, but it sounded okay.  Plus, that is what Luvy picked out.  🙂

I love reading other food blogs, because I can just follow their recipes on night’s that I don’t feel like being creative!

The soup was great, but it left me feeling a bit more nauseous than before I ate it.  Bummer.  I’m trying to force myself to eat my veggies even though all I want is noodles with earth balance on them.  My mom used to make me noodles with butter on them when I was little, and now that is what I crave when I don’t feel good.

Here’s to hoping that I feel better tomorrow after shoving veggies down my throat all day long!

Do any of you have foods that you crave when you don’t feel good?  I also want hot tea and my bed buddy!  🙂

3 thoughts on “Combat the Bug

  1. http://www.beta-glucan-info.com/astaxanthin-questions-answers.htm

    Here’s a link you may be interested in. This is a supplement that a friend at work is taking. Her doctor recommended it to her actually! No known interactions or side effects. Supplement found at Walgreens too! One of the benefits of this supplement that sparked my attention is it’s protection from sunburns. I thought of you when I read it’s benefit for H pylori. Check it out. I’m going to check to see if our supplement supplier offers it.

    Check it out.

    Aleisia Rouse

Leave a Reply

