Saturdays are for Relaxing

Don’t ya be a grumpy
When the road gets bumpy
Just smile, smile, smile and be happy! ~Temple Shirley

Feeling some better today!!  I’m so thankful.  I think the fresh fruits and veggies did the trick!

This morning, I had planned a run to test out my knee, but I decided to put that off.  My body needs all the energy it can get to heal and repair.

I decided to go to the farmer’s market here in town instead.  I wanted some local honey, but I wasn’t paying $15 dollars for honey.  I love honey and all, but give me a break!!   Instead, I walked away with some patty pan squash, cucs, and fresh green beans.  Our cucumber plant hasn’t given us a cuc yet!!

After breakfast, our garden got a haircut.

I pulled some turnips.  I had to pull some small because we planted them a little too close together and so they are keeping each other from growing.

I got another bag of kale (come visit Mary!!), 3 romas, a couple of baby tomatoes, 1 squash, and 1 zucchini.

YUMMY.  I have a feeling that I am going to be eating garden fresh for the next week!  🙂  Suits me just fine!

For lunch, I made Luvy and I huge smoothies, and we went for a walk around the neighborhood.  It was Luvy’s first time venturing out of the house.  Poor guy has been typing and studying away today!  He is hoping to have an 18 page paper written today!  I couldn’t write 18 pages in 1 day if my life depended on it!

Since I had the free time, I made 2 batches of granola…. of course I ate 1/2 of it while I was making it.  Why do I always do that to myself????  🙂

I didn’t feel like being creative again in the kitchen tonight, so I whipped up Mama Pea’s Tamale Pie.  I also cooked up some kale and turnip greens from our garden!

I think Luvy would move us in with Mama Pea.  Her recipes never let me down!  It’s going to be a good day when her cookbook makes it here!!  I may never create another recipe again.

Mama Pea, I’ll make you a deal.  I’ll take Pea Kitty off your hands if you will cook my birthday dinner for me!  😉

I’m already scouring her desserts for what I’m going to make for myself for my birthday!  It is only 1 week away!!!

Off to watch Rookie Blue and make Luvy take a break!

Hope you all had a wonderful and relaxing Saturday!  I did!!

One thought on “Saturdays are for Relaxing

  1. Thanks for the smile Brittany! I could use it today – I can empathize with the all day paper writing. I was at the library working on one of our assignments from 11 to 5 and am still at it. Maybe a year from now, most of this will be behind us. Hope to see ya sometime this week!

Leave a Reply

