Love You, Mean It!

What a busy and wonderful weekend we are having!

I have so much to share that I will only share a bit of it so that I don’t bombard you all with a super long post.  Besides, my life is never this exciting, so I might as well keep you in suspense!  🙂

Friday we had the opportunity to see my college roommate, Stacey, her husband, Dave, and their little boy, Aiden.

If you all remember I posted the other day about this family.  Aiden is 10 and 1/2 months old and was recently diagnosed with cancer.

However, since my last post, they have gotten some better news!  After consulting a pathologist from St. Louis, Aiden does not have undifferentiated sarcoma.  He has Acute Myelogenous Leukemia (AML).  This is a small miracle, because this is MUCH more treatable than their other diagnosis!  We are praising the Lord for this good news.

Poor little guy had just woken up from anesthesia when we got there.  He had to have a PET scan.  He is such a sweet boy, and he is so content.

We got to share lunch with Stace and Dave before heading back home.  Tomato Head trumps hospital food any day!

To be in a hospital, they sure look good!  I have never seen anyone look so good in a hospital room.

Being around them and seeing their unshakable joy and faith in the Lord was such a testimony to me.  Stacey is such a strong woman, stronger than I think she even realizes!  I am so thankful that we got to stop in and see them for just a little while.

It puts things in perspective when I think of my “bad day” compared to what my sweet friend and her family are facing.  Also, it puts things in perspective when you are excited that you find out that your sweet little boy has a type of leukemia instead of another kind of cancer.

We are so blessed, and I know I personally take it for-granted.

Since the diagnosis changed, they will be spending about 10 days in the hospital.  They will get to go home for a little while, and then they will be back in the hospital for more treatment.  This diagnosis has them in the hospital a lot more than originally planned.

Please continue to pray for this family.  God is the Great Physician and I know that he loves Aiden more than any of us here on earth.  My heart breaks for Stacey and Dave.  I have no idea what they feel or are going through, but I want to help carry some of their burden for them.

Will you help me in doing so by committing to pray for them?  If so, please let me know by leaving a comment below.

Also, if any of you are interested in helping to meet any of their needs or helping them out in any way feel free to e-mail me at delightsanddeletables (at) gmail.com.

Be sure to check out their blog here.  They try to update it at least every other day to keep everyone informed on their progress.

Stacey and Dave- Thank you so much for spending time with us!  We love you, and we promise to pray ceaselessly for your family for as long as it takes!!  (Love you mean it!)  🙂

2 thoughts on “Love You, Mean It!

  1. Nathan and I will most certainly be praying for this family. Since we are here in Knoxville, we would be glad to take them a meal if needed. Let me know what we can do to help!

Leave a Reply

