Garden Eatin’

I love summer because of all the fresh fruits and veggies!!
I love having a garden, but we are having a hard time with bugs.  They killed our squash, zucchini, and cucumbers!!
This year, our tomatoes have taken off like weeds!!  I LOVE having fresh tomatoes, but sometimes I get sick of eating a tomato salad.  Plus, I’m not a huge fan of the large tomatoes raw.  They are too mushy for my liking.  It’s a texture thing.
Every summer, I make a homemade veggie pasta sauce to use up some of my tomatoes.  Of course 1/2 way through I decided to take pictures to share with you all.
I’m way too scattered..sorry!
I love pasta year round, but a heavy sauce is a little too much for me in the summer time.  This sauce is just perfect for summer!
Spinach and Vegetable Penne Pasta
  • 1 box Penne Pasta
  • 7 cups spinach
  • 2-3 cups mushrooms, chopped
  • 4 cups chopped tomatoes (I did 5 this time— we needed to use our tomatoes!)
  • 3/4 cup red bell pepper, chopped
  • 3/4 cup green bell pepper, chopped
  • 1 sweet onion, chopped
  • 4 garlic cloves, minced
  • 4 sundried tomatoes finely chopped
  • 2-3 Tbsp fresh parsley and oregano
  • red pepper flakes to taste (we used a lot because we like it spicy!)
  • kalamata olives, chopped (opt.)
First, put a large pot of water on the boil for your noodles.
Heat a large skillet over medium heat and spray with cooking spray.  Add in onion and garlic.  Sautee until starting to get soft.
Add in bell peppers and mushrooms.
At this time, you can go ahead and cook your noodles.  You want them al a dente.  I used the garden penne which added more flavor!  Make sure you drain them well when they are cooked.
Once peppers and mushrooms are tender, add in tomatoes and spinach.  Add in seasonings here.
Cook until spinach is wilted and tomatoes are heated through.
Add salt and pepper to taste.
When noodles are done, drain and serve sauce over noodles.
 Garnish with nutritional yeast or parmesan cheese.
This is one of Luvy’s favorite meals!  Plus, it is a great way to use up any of your summer veggies.  Feel free to add in squash, zucchini, eggplant, or any other veggie!
Do any of you have gardens??  What is growing well for you this year?
Leave a Reply

