Southern

I’m still here!

Sorry things got hectic around here, and so I had to put off blogging.  Sad story… I know.

Did you all miss me??  I sure missed you all.

Today was a GREAT day, because Luvy and I met Coleman “Cole” Lee for the first time!!  

He is a doll.  He doesn’t know it yet, but he is going to be a southern gentleman and a Volunteer!  Sorry the picture is so dark.  He is in the NICU, and I didn’t want to blind him with my flash.  The lights were very dim in there.  I can’t wait until they have him home, because I’m ready to hold him and love on him!!

SO, I have been waiting all week to share this WONDERFUL recipe with you all.  A lot of you are afraid of okra or don’t like it because it is slimy… well not anymore!!  Time to put your big boy and girl britches on and try this out.  You won’t be disappointed.

This recipe was made by Luvy’s mom in the summertime when he was growing up.  I changed it a bit to fit our needs.  🙂

“Fried” Okra, Squash, and Green Tomatoes

  • Whole bunch of okra (as many as you would like), chopped
  • 2-3 yellow squash, chopped
  • 2 large green tomatoes, chopped
  • 2 Tbsp corn meal
  • 1/2 tsp pepper
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp chili powder

Chop all your veggies and place them in a large skillet that has been sprayed with cooking spray.  

Turn skillet to medium high.

Stir together your corn meal and seasonings.

Sprinkle over veggies and toss to combine.

Allow to cook over medium/medium high for about 40 minutes or so.  Stir every 7-8 minutes or so.  You don’t want to stir too often, because it will get mushy.  Mushy = Bad

Serve up with some fresh veggies and Luvy had chicken.  I like it with some BBQed beans.  🙂  

If this ain’t Southern, I don’t know what is!

Off to game night with the college and young adults!!

Happy Weekend!!

Leave a Reply

