Cleanin’ Up Shop!

I have one blog rule.. if I have nothing to say, don’t blog!  🙂

I don’t want to bore you all to death with my non-eventful life.

Tonight I wanted to fill you all in on a challenge Luvy and I are doing.  I haven’t blogged about it until tonight, because I wanted to see how it would go before we started it!

After Saturday’s juice cleanse (which helped a TON by the way), we decided to carry on with our “cleanse” by only eating super healthy foods.

I love, love, love Dr. Josh Axe.  He is a chiropractor in Nashville, and he is cutting edge on holistic medicine and nutrition.  So, of course, I looked at his site when researching a cleanse.

You can read his blog on this here.

We Americans are so busy and rushed that we just stuff ourselves with whatever we can get the quickest.  This leaves us sometimes bloated and sluggish.  Luvy and I eat pretty clean, but I have been eating a TON of cold cereal here lately.  So, this healthy eating cleanse is helping me to clean up my diet some.

Also, you all know I have a TON of food allergies, so I have cut out all these foods during this time.

What are we eating???

  • all kinds of fresh fruits and veggies (except what I’m allergic to!)
  • millet
  • corn
  • beans
  • quinoa
  • oats
  • rice
  • tofu
  • nuts/seeds
  • almond butter and peanut butter
  • salsa
  • avocado
  • hummus

We are eating pretty much the same as we usually do except we have cut out refined sugars, processed foods (anything that didn’t come from nature), caffeine, dairy, eggs, and meat/fish. Gluten is another item that I took out.  I have always felt like gluten didn’t always sit right when I ate a lot of gluten, so I decided to take it out and see what happened.

It hasn’t been as bad as I thought I would be.  The only thing that I have really been missing is granola!  I have left this out since the high levels of honey I use in there.

I’m pretty certain I’m addicted to sugar.  🙂

I also have been trying to eat more raw foods.  However, this isn’t going so well.  I love to cook so much!!  🙂

I have noticed that I feel much more alert, MUCH less bloated, less sluggish, and my food cravings are starting to slow down some.

Also, I have been drinking Dr. Axe’s Cleanse Drink in the mornings before I eat anything.  It has been great!!

  • 1 cup water
  • 1 Tbsp lemon juice
  • 1 Tbsp apple cider vinegar
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • dash of cayenne pepper
  • stevia to taste

Over the next week, I’m going to start slowly reintroducing some foods and see how I feel!

I shall keep you all posted.

Have any of you ever cleaned up your diet or wanted to in order to help you feel better??  I highly recommend it!!  You will feel amazing!

Luvy is actually doing really well without dairy or meat.  He has been such a trooper.  I even told him that he could go ahead and add one in this weekend, and he said he was in it for the long haul!  Love him!  However, he is still not excited about not drinking coffee.. hehehe.

Do you all have any questions about a cleanse??

Stay tuned this weekend for a blog about nutrition from my friend Mary, who is a dietitian!!  🙂

Leave a Reply

