Almost Grandma’s Banana Nut Bread

I’m a carbs kind of girl.  If you put me on the Adkins diet, I would die.

I have 3 major food groups.  Fruit,/Veggies, Nut/Seed butter, and Starches (bread, rice, oatmeal, cereal).  Everyday, I MUST have a bowl of cereal.  It is “healthy” cereal.  No added junk, but it is still cereal.  🙂  I’m trying to do better, but with school and life being crazy my diet hasn’t been very good.

From what I understand, my grandmother Deloris was a great cook.  I think she might have had a love of carbs too, because she has a lot of bread recipes.  My mamaw, who was my best friend growing up, definitely had a sweet tooth.  She is also a major reason why I love to make homemade breads.  I even have her breadmaker!  Her house frequently smelled of homemade bread. 

Unlike me, these ladies used lots of shortening and butter!  🙂  My mom gave me my grandmother’s recipe for Banana Nut Bread a while back, but I was never able to make it.  It called for several things that my body and diet doesn’t agree with.  For a long time, I have wanted to find a way to make this, because it was her recipe.  I never got to meet my grandmother Deloris, because she died of cancer the year before I was born.

Almost Grandma’s Banana Nut Bread (inspired by Grandma Deloris and MamaPea)

  • 3 ripe bananas, mashed
  • 1 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1 cup all purpose flour (or 2 cups of whole wheat pastry flour)
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 cup applesauce
  • 1/4 cup NuNaturals Stevia Baking Blend or 1/3 cup sugar
  • 1/4 cup milk or water (I used unsweetened almond)
  • 1/4-1/2 cup pecans or walnuts, chopped (optional)
Preheat oven to 350°.
Start by mashing the bananas.  Mix in sugar, applesauce, and milk.
In another bowl, mix flour(s), baking soda, cinnamon, and salt.  Slowly add into banana mixture.  Mix well.  Fold in chopped nuts. (Side note:  MamaPea used chocolate chips!)
Pour batter into greased muffins or a loaf pan.
For muffins, it makes 12.  Bake for 18 minutes.
For a loaf, bake for 45-50 minutes.
You know I don’t have the patience for bread, so muffins it was.  I served these up to Luvy and Jenna.  They both loved them.  Plus, they were made with healthy, real ingredients.  Not all kinds of preservatives or a ton of sugar!  🙂
They are great drizzled with honey(Luvy style), with nut butter(guilty!), or just plain(Jenna style).  Serve them up with a smoothie and you have yourself a well-balanced breakfast!
In case you didn’t notice, I have been trying the NuNaturals products that were sent to me.  I’ll be doing a full review of them soon!
Ready…Set…GO make bread!  I’m all out!  😦
2 thoughts on “Almost Grandma’s Banana Nut Bread

  1. These look yummy. I adore carbs too, but I’m trying to avoid them as much as is reasonable because they make me fat :P. I’m not even drinking anything but wine any more and I’m almost totally off the bread. It was hard to start with but now it’s ok.

  2. Pingback: Pumpkin Banana Bread - Delights and Delectables

Leave a Reply

