The Taste of Fall

Fall is here my friends.

This morning was cold and rainy.. just like fall.  I’m still being a big girl about it though.  I didn’t complain that I woke up chilly.  Nope.  Instead, I bounded out of bed, put my clothes on, and Luvy and I headed out to spin.

We went to our favorite spin studio, Still Spinnin.  It was hot and sweaty and glorious.  Just what the doctor ordered for today.  It wasn’t as challenging of a class today, but I was sweating like crazy!  I think it was because of the humidity.

To make fall even more real, Luvy and I made a fall meal that I have been drooling over since Emily posted it last October!  I’m a little late joining the party.  Better late than never, right???  🙂

What says fall better than chili served in mini pumpkins??  Too cute right?

I followed Emily’s recipe, except I added in 2.5 fresh, chopped tomatoes, 1/2 tsp salt and pepper, and about 1.5 extra cups of vegetable broth.

First, I cut the tops off of my pumpkins.  (Yes, I’m wearing the same shirt as yesterday.  Don’t judge.)

Then I cleaned out all the gunk.  I saved the seeds…  Those will be put to good use later this week.  You should save the seeds too!

After I got the pumpkins all clean, I put them in the oven for 30 minutes on 350°.  I forgot to oil, salt, and pepper them, but they turned out great.

After chopping all my veggies and getting my chili going, I ladled some chili into the pumpkins once they were finished cooking.

I cooked these for 45 more minutes.  Meanwhile, the rest of the chili simmered on low on the stovetop.

Out came the pumpkins.  Perfection!

I served them with cornbread.

Luvy decided that this will be a meal that we make several times this fall/winter!  I would say that it was definitely Luvy approved!

I’m sure that if you have a chili recipe that you love, you could just put it in the pumpkins and serve it up that way as well!

Let me know if you try it!  You won’t be sorry you did.

Make sure that you enter the NuNaturals Stevia giveaway if you haven’t already.  It ends TOMORROW!

Leave a Reply

