My Superman

Luvy is pretty much Superman.

He works hard everyday, goes to school, teaches, and takes care of me and our home.  He wears me out just watching him!

Today he did all kinds of things outside, worked on school stuff, did laundry, and made dinner.  How did I get so lucky???

Thursdays are my late night and he is “off,” so he usually takes care of dinner.  He never disappoints, but tonight he took it to a whole new level.

I had been dreaming up this recipe for a few days.  Actually, more like weeks.  I have been thinking about it ever since I made Cushaw Stew.

At lunch, it looked like this.

When I got home from work, I could smell the deliciousness in the garage!

That’s when I was greeted with this.

Luvy did great!  We both loved the meal.  It was deemed Luvy approved!  🙂

Sweet Potato, Carrot, and Lentil Stew

  • 1 large sweet potato, chopped
  • 3 carrots, chopped
  • 1 onion, diced
  • 2 cloves garlic, diced
  • small stub of ginger (maybe 1 inch?), diced
  • 1 cup lentils
  • 1 1/2 tsp turmeric
  • 1 tsp garam masala (if you don’t have this use 1/2 tsp of cinnamon plus a small dash of ground red pepper)
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • 1 tsp coriander
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp pepper
  • 5 1/2 to 6 cups of water or broth

Chop everything up and dump all ingredients in the crock pot.  Cook on high for 4- 41/2 hours.

Enjoy!

Off to hang out with Luvy.  I have a busy, busy weekend ahead.

Brooks Elementary 5K Saturday morning and the rest of the time I have to keep my face in the books.  I have a big test next week.

What are you weekend plans?

Leave a Reply

