It’s Time!

‘Tis that time of year.  I am sneezing, manly sounding, and now I have the headache.

I only get bad headaches with the weather goes from one extreme to another.  🙂  For example, it was only 50° on Saturday and then today it was 82°.  Lovely.  I’m very glad to have the heat back, but my head feel like it is going to explode!!  That also could be from all the studying I have been doing!  😉

Regardless of the warmer weather, I am definitely in the mood for fall foods.  Soup beans, chili, stews, and comfort foods have been dominating our house.  My favorite fall food, however, is pumpkin!  I love it.  I love pumpkin in just about anything and everything.

I’m working on a new recipe for pumpkin pasta sauce… it’s gonna be good!

My newest creation was a spin off my Almost Grandma’s Banana Bread.  I turned it into Pumpkin Banana Bread!

This is the best pumpkin banana bread I have ever made!

Pumpkin Banana Bread

Wet:

  • 2 bananas, mashed
  • 1/4 cup stevia baking blend (or 1/3 to 1/2 cup brown sugar)
  • 3/4 cup pumpkin
  • 1/4 cup milk (I used unsweetened almond)

Dry:

  • 1 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp pumpkin pie spice
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4- 1/2 cup pecans or walnuts (opt)

Mash bananas.  Add all “wet” ingredients and mix well. ( I know the sugar isn’t wet, but mix it in anyway!)  I just mash my banana up with a fork.  I like the banana to be a little chunky.

Mix all “dry” ingredients and slowly mix into banana mixture.  Put in greased loaf pan or muffin pan.

Bake muffins for 18 minutes.  For a loaf, bake for 45-50 minutes.

Top with peanut butter, honey, and chopped bananas for an almost sinfully good breakfast. 🙂  Or just grab them on your way out the door on days you are running late…. I wouldn’t know anything about that!  😉  It would also make a nutritious afternoon snack…. I wouldn’t know anything about that either…

What are your favorite fall foods?

3 thoughts on “It’s Time!

  1. Oooh!! I really want to make these now!! 😀 I love pumpkin, too. Hope you get to feeling better soon, Brittany. Miss you!!

  2. Pingback: Nuttzo « Delights and Delectables

  3. Pingback: Nuttzo - Delights and Delectables

Leave a Reply

