You Might Think I’m Crazy…

Have you all every been to the point that you would be willing to try ANYTHING to get rid of a problem?

I found myself in that position during  college when I used to battle headaches.  I used to have them at least once a month.  It got to the point that I couldn’t stand it anymore.  I couldn’t take medicine all the time, because I couldn’t drive while taking it.  I also couldn’t go to class or dance, because the medicine would knock me out.

I’ve never liked taking medicine anyway, so when my dad told me about a doctor that a lot of his workers went to I was up for trying anything.

After my headache hit yesterday, I took an ibuprofen, but I don’t like putting medicines into my body so I knew where I would be headed today.  So what’s my secret??

You might think I’m nuts, but I swear by the chiropractor.  Now before you say you would never let someone crack on your back, hear me out.

Here is some information found on WebMD.  (I mean who doesn’t look up everything and diagnose themselves on WebMD??)

What Is Chiropractic?

Chiropractors use hands-on spinal manipulation and other alternative treatments, the theory being that proper alignment of the body’s musculoskeletal structure, particularly the spine, will enable the body to heal itself without surgery or medication.  Manipulation is used to restore mobility to joints restricted by tissue injury caused by a traumatic event, such as falling, or repetitive stress, such as sitting without proper back support.

Chiropractic is primarily used as a pain relief alternative for muscles, joints, bones, and connective tissue, such as cartilage, ligaments, and tendons. It is sometimes used in conjunction with conventional medical treatment.

What Does Chiropractic for Back Pain Involve?

A chiropractor first takes a medical history, performs a physical examination, and may use lab tests or diagnostic imaging to determine if treatment is appropriate for your back pain.

The treatment plan may involve one or more manual adjustments in which the doctor manipulates the joints, using a controlled, sudden force to improve range and quality of motion. Many chiropractors also incorporate nutritional counseling and exercise/rehabilitation into the treatment plan. The goals of chiropractic care include the restoration of function and prevention of injury in addition to back pain relief.

I just love WebMD.  Just don’t ever try to diagnose yourself on there… they make you think you’re dying!

So what does chiropractic help?

  • relieve compression and back/neck pain
  • improved circulation
  • relaxes muscles
  • improved digestion
  • improved mobility
  • helps prevent further injuries
  • and several others…

Tonight after my adjustment, my neck is not so tight, and my headache is 99% better.  Call me crazy, but I swear by it!

I have also heard several people who say that chiropractic care has helped them with their allergies and a friend of mine says it helped with her infertility.  However, I wouldn’t say it can solve all your problems, and I’m not saying not to take medicine or go stop going to your primary care physician.

So you don’t want to be “cracked” on?  Several chiropractors can also use an activator to do adjustments.  This is a small handheld device that feels like thumps on your back.  

However, there is nothing like getting your neck popped when you have a headache!

You have to make sure you ask around and find a good chiropractor.  One site you can look for one at is Maximized Living.

If you live in the Louisville area, feel free to contact me and I’ll share where I go.  🙂

What do you all think about chiropractic care?

Leave a Reply

