Barely Made It!

My body is NOT getting used to this Pacific Standard Time at all!

However, we did make it here… barely.  Considering I was on the plane, it was a bit of an adventure.  We, of course, were delayed getting out of Louisville.  Our flight was scheduled to leave at 7 and we didn’t leave until 8:45 or so.  It was an hour flight to Chicago.  Our next flight was leaving at 9:05 central time for Seattle.  It was going to be a tight squeeze.  They went ahead a rebooked us on a backup flight to Seattle for the next day at 3pm in case (or when) we missed our flight out.

Well, we didn’t end up landing until 8:15 central time.  Luckily, (and this will never happen to me again!) our flight to Seattle was delayed as well!  We sprinted through the Chicago airport and boarded our plane at the last-minute.  Whew!  Neither one of us thought that we were going to make the flight.  We would have been okay with staying in Chicago over night, but we would have lost an entire day here.

When we got to Seattle, we quickly discovered that we had no luggage.  BIG SURPRISE.  This is no biggie for me anymore.  I never arrive with luggage, or if I do I have had some other traveling crisis.  🙂  (note to self- stop flying!)

After dealing with lost luggage, getting our rental car, and finding our rental home we didn’t get in bed until after 3am PST.  This was 6am at home!  Luvy was able to sleep some on the plane, but I couldn’t.

My internal alarm woke me up at around 7.  The idea of sleeping past what I’m used to being 10am was not making my body happy.

Since we had no luggage, we ran out to Trader Joe’s to get some essentials plus some groceries.  We came home to make big bowls of oatmeal.  Just what we needed!  

After that, we hung out at a cool coffee shop until our luggage arrived.  I think I took the longest and hottest shower in my life after I got my things.  

One thing that I am super excited about is that Seattle is extremely vegetarian and vegan friendly.  They are also very big on eating organic and local.  It is amazing.  Since we hadn’t had much sleep, Luvy and I went to a very casual place for dinner.  This place was on my must-go-to list!

Chaco Canyon is a vegan and gluten-free restaurant in the University District of Seattle.  

The food was incredible.  We got a pumpkin bisque to start out with.  It was to DIE for.  I could have eaten a tub full of that bisque.

We shared the Thai Peanut grain bowl and one of the specials.  The special was like a thick chili over polenta with pumpkin and brussels pasta salad.  Both were wonderful.  There are so many good places to eat, but we might just end up back there again.  I need more bisque!  🙂

After dinner, we went up to Kerry Park.  It gives the most famous view of Seattle.  The picture is hard to see since it was shot in the dark, but it gives you a small sneak peak of how beautiful it is here!

We hit the hay early last night, because we were both delirious from not having much sleep.

Today we explored Seattle by foot!  Stay tuned tomorrow for that!

Sorry for the day delay in posting.  The PST is throwing me off.  By the time this gets posted, it will only be 10:15pm here, which is 1:14am EST.  Now, y’all can just enjoy my posts over a cup o’ joe in the mornings instead of at night.

Honestly, I can’t think of a better way to start your day!  😉

One thought on “Barely Made It!

Leave a Reply

